Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef

Soccer Rules Changes 1580-2000

Panel Login

Question Number: 33523

Law 13 - Free Kicks 7/16/2019

RE: rec. Adult

Joaquin Donis of Plantation, FL usa asks...

I have never seen this shot. The attacking team is given a shot about 20 steps from the goal. All the defending team, with the goalie, lines up as if they were goalie. The whole goal is defended by the whole team. What kind of shot or foul is this.

Answer provided by Referee Jason Wright

Hi Joaquin,
There's absolutely nothing wrong with this. The defending team can stand wherever they like as long as they're at least 10 yards from the ball. The defenders who aren't the keeper just need to make sure they don't deliberately handle the ball - as they would anywhere.

Read other questions answered by Referee Jason Wright

View Referee Jason Wright profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

Hi Joaquin,
this SOUNDS as if it is an INDFK inside the opposition penalty area? All DFKs are PKs so this is a rare occurrence but it can occur via a 2nd touch violation, PIADM, impeding without contact or illegal use of hands by the keeper if he was restricted.

If the restart location is less than 10 yards ( 30 feet) from the goal line while defenders are required by law & MUST retire to a 10 yard minimum, in these rare cases the defenders can stand ON the goal line between the posts, UNDER the crossbar .

An important point here is no INDFK can occur CLOSER than 6 yards as any INDFK inside the 6 yard goal area is brought straight back to the goal area line that parallels the actual goal line!

If they do not want to be on the goal line itself, defenders including the keeper still must be ten yards away from the restart location in every other direction. On ANY free kick except the PK, defenders can choose tactically to line up the wall as they wish provided it follows the 10 yard minimum. distance or the between the posts under the crossbar if a lesser distance.

Keep in mind that an INDFK say located 8 yds away at the corner of the goal post only part of the wall need be on the goal line for 2 yards of it, then the wall could swing out at angle because you would be 10 yards away from the restart point!

Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Peter Grove

Hi Joaquin,
When you say 'shot' and describe a whole team of opponents lined up on the goal line, it seems what you are describing is an indirect free kick awarded to an attacking team for an offence less than 10 yards from the goal line.

Law 13 (Free Kicks) states that whenever a free kick of any kind is taken, the opponents must remain:

''at least 9.15 m (10 yds) from the ball, unless they are on their own goal line between the goalposts''

While an indirect free kick can be awarded for a number of different offences, the most common reason for this to happen in the position you describe, is for a goalkeeper handling a ball that was deliberately kicked to them by a team mate.

Sometimes, an indirect free kick offence even takes place inside the defending team's goal area (aka 6-yard area).

When such an indirect free kick is given, the law says that:

''indirect free kicks to the attacking team for an offence inside the opponents' goal area are taken from the nearest point on the goal area line which runs parallel to the goal line.''

Again, in this situation the defenders will typically all line up inside the posts on their own goal line.

Read other questions answered by Referee Peter Grove

View Referee Peter Grove profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Joaquin
I believe what you are describing here is an indirect free kick inside the penalty area. An IDFK us awarded for a technical offence committed inside the penalty area such as the goalkeeper touching the ball with his hands when the ball has been deliberately kicked to him by a team mate or playing in a dangerous manner with no contact on an opponent.
A goal cannot be scored directly from an IDFK and all opponents must be 10 yards from the ball. So if the IDFK was say 8 yards from goal all of the opponents must be 10 yards OR standing on the goal line between the goalposts. Outside the goal posts the opponents must be 10 yards from the ball
Here are some examples

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 33523
Read other Q & A regarding Law 13 - Free Kicks

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site are welcomed! <>