Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef

Soccer Rules Changes 1580-2000

Panel Login

Question Number: 33578

Law 14 - The Penalty kick 8/15/2019

RE: Recreational Under 13

Jose hernandez of Duarte, Ca Usa asks...

1. Just Before a kick-off an opponent enters the circle.what would be the restart?

2. The ball is in play from a penalty kick when?

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Jose
1. If the encroachment has an effect on play it is a retake. If it has no effect with zero impact on the kicking team it can be deemed trifling and play continues..
2. The ball is in play when it is kicked and clearly moves. Interestingly the ball cannot be kicked legally backwards away from goal. That is an offence punished by an indirect free kick.
In the past there was a conundrum in the wording of Law 14 that the ball had to be kicked forward to be put into play. It was questioned how could there be an offence when the ball was not in play as it did not go forward. The current wording is that the ball is in play when kicked and moved with backwards listed as an offence.

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Peter Grove

Hi Jose,
1. Assuming the referee doesn't spot this before the kick-off and just tell the player to retreat before the kick is taken, this would be a retake - unless, as ref Wright says, the referee decides to see it as a trivial or dubious offence and just let play continue.

2. At a penalty kick, ''The ball is in play when it is kicked and clearly moves.''

Read other questions answered by Referee Peter Grove

View Referee Peter Grove profile

Answer provided by Referee Jason Wright

Hi Jose,
1) The restart is simply a retake of the kick-off. The opponent could be cautioned, but usually this won't be necessary. Though if there's no impact, the referee could allow play to continue
2) When it is kicked and clearly moves (after the referee has blown the whistle to permit the kick)

Read other questions answered by Referee Jason Wright

View Referee Jason Wright profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 33578
Read other Q & A regarding Law 14 - The Penalty kick

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site are welcomed! <>