Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef

Soccer Rules Changes 1580-2000

Panel Login

Question Number: 33586

Law 10 - Determining the Outcome of a Match 8/20/2019

RE: 4 Professional

Rocky of Mumbai, Maharashtra India asks...

This question is a follow up to question 33582

Q. My question was with regards to the goalkeeper accidentally throwing the ball into his own net.

To make it more clear - the situation arises when the goal keeper has collected the ball inside the penalty area. He positions himself now to release the ball by virtue of throwing it, but ends up throwing into his own net (probably it slipped from his hands).

Is it a goal?

Answer provided by Referee Jason Wright

Hi Rocky,
Thanks for clarifying - we certainly want to make sure we're providing the right answer to your question!
Yes, this is a goal.
As this is not a goal kick it has nothing to do with the changes in law allowing defenders to receive the ball inside the PA. When the keeper has caught the ball inside the PA, the defenders could always receive the ball from the keeper inside the PA if they wish. Sometimes the keeper would simply roll the ball to a nearby defender.

There have been some incidents - even at professional level - where the keeper has thrown the ball into their own goal after catching it in play. In this instance it's a goal - whereas if it was a goal kick (restart after the ball went out of play), it wouldn't be.

Here's one example from the Ethiopian Premier League - perfectly valid goal

Read other questions answered by Referee Jason Wright

View Referee Jason Wright profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Rocky
Thanks for the clarification. The confusion arose given the changes to the goal kick law and your related question.
So Yes it is a goal as described and Referee Wright has reposted the video of such a valid goal.

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 33586
Read other Q & A regarding Law 10 - Determining the Outcome of a Match

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site are welcomed! <>