Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef

Soccer Rules Changes 1580-2000

Panel Login

Question Number: 33606

Law 13 - Free Kicks 8/30/2019

RE: Rec Under 16

Doug Crawford of Moraga, CA US asks...

This question is a follow up to question 33604

Quick Restart on a Retake? If it was ceremonial the 1st time does it have to be ceremonial the 2nd time?
Suppose you award an IDFK close to 6 yards, which is more often ceremonial, as the players don't always understand, and refs know it is complicated for them.
A defender enroaches, no advantage, so ref blows the whistle for a re-take. Then the attacking team gets the ball to the same spot, and takes a quick kick for ther retake, surprising the defenders who are not blocking the goal as well, and ball bounces into goal.
Defenders will scream they were not ready - but the ref usually does not care if defenders are ready.
Is it ok to allow a quick free kick in this situation where you are taking a re-take of a prior ceremonial free kick (could actually be IDFK or DFK from the right locations, same issue, but just a bigger deal at 6 yards).
Unfortunately, I call this at least once a season w youth rec goalies picking up the ball passed to them deliberately.
Thanks /Doug

Answer provided by Referee Peter Grove

Hi Doug,
Like ref Wright, I can't imagine any scenario where you would make an initial kick 'ceremonial' and not treat the retake in the same manner. It's still the same free kick situation, for the same offence, wherein you've already indicated that you are controlling the situation and enforcing the required distance.

Could you theoretically get away with allowing a quick free kick without the whistle second time around? I suppose you could but there a difference between what you can get away with and what a sensible referee should actually do. Apart from anything else, you would be putting your match control in serious jeopardy by doing this.

Read other questions answered by Referee Peter Grove

View Referee Peter Grove profile

Answer provided by Referee Jason Wright

Hi Doug,
If there's encroachment on the first one, and you've ordered a retake, then you've issued a caution.
After a caution, play must be restarted by a whistle.

If you're not cautioning, then the encroachment isn't serious enough - so you also shouldn't be ordering a retake.

If it's the sort of scenario where players are encroaching but the ball hasn't been kicked and you can see there's a bit of confusion, then you can give a quick tweet of the whistle to intervene and manage the situation - but if you're doing this then you're making it ceremonial.

I can't imagine any scenario where you'd order a retake but not make it ceremonial - by ordering the retake, you're stepping in and controlling the situation.

Read other questions answered by Referee Jason Wright

View Referee Jason Wright profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

HI Doug ,
a very good question!

If you state and signal publicly, pointing too the whistle holding it aloft saying we are WAITING for a whistle restart then the expectation is there will be a whistled restart, for NOT to do so is blatantly unfair
For me that is key what has the referees done to involve themselves into the situation?
A referee who states, we will wait for a whistle to restart THIS situation, mandated to do it again should THAT ceremonial restart be compromised? No
Is a failure to show a card for the 10 yard no fly zone a protestable event? No
Is no whistle for that 2nd restart a protestable event? No

The RECOMMENDATIONS in the LOTG suggest that using the whistle is good idea at specific times to avoid confusion but the FACT is it is not protestable if the whistle is not used. It might be foolish, bad mechanics, even an oversight but if a referee is accepting that he gave a signal or allowed the restart to proceed, as a fact of play, if it was a lawful restart, tough luck if the one team was caught unawares.

This is a goal! Albeit a contentious one
Nothing the defenders can say or do will change that IF the referee has done nothing else other than indicate the free kick is to be retaken. The defenders created the circumstances of the initial foul, they created the restart by again using misconduct and if the referee is not cautioning the opposing player and has not indicated the whistle WILL be used (even if many will suggest it SHOULD) the goal is legal. The referee must raise the arm though indicating it is an INDFK.

Is it wise to go this route? Probably not.

You are 100% correct an INDFK inside the PA where defenders can only line up on the goal line under the crossbar ad between the posts is indeed a situation fraught with tension & confusion.

Once you blow the whistle to halt play is there a NECESSITY for you to re-blow it to RESTART play? Not always!

Now in managing a match a referee should be very aware that although the LOTG are made with the best of intentions certain situation arise that just do not feel justified? Awarding loss of possession free kicks for indiscretion particularly at the youth level where skill, knowledge and awareness if the game is just being formulated a scoring opportunity out of essentially nothing, does seem a trifle harsh . In these cases following strict protocol to ensure the restart proceeds with no hint of impropriety isn't an unwise action to follow. It would be very acceptable to caution the player who failed to respect the distance and go with a whistled restart.

In the case of a referee, being involved if you get the ball in your possession you SHOULD ALWAYS whistle the restart . If you engage in conversation with players you should always whistle restart.

Not the same if they choose to talk to you.

In a tough match u 21 a hard foul had occurred, the ball & player complete stop. I was quick on the whistle. Some players nearest were giving me the card wag another said, How about ten yards but the tackled player had quickly arisen he set and passed the ball unchallenged to a quick counter attack so I allowed play to continue. It resulted in a goal about 30 seconds later. The defenders were CONVINCED that I WAS going to card and that they heard his teammate ask for ten so they took their foot of the gas and got caught out. The FACT was I had done NOTHING at that point except blow the whistle for the original foul.

Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Doug
The panel had a interesting debate on the requirement for the use of the whistle at restarts. The Laws of the Game makes no mention anywhere of a whistle just to the use of a signal at certain times such as at kick off and at a penalty kick. The advice and guidelines however outlines when a whistle should be used.
*Ceremonial* does not exist in the Laws of the Game and it is a convention that has become to be accepted in the game as a way of controlling a restart. It is mechanics to assist the referee in control of the game yet not part of the Laws. It is a distinction that is lost between what is the Laws and what is advice.
A few seasons ago Manchester United scored a quick free kick against Lille in a CL game. It caused a huge furore, a threatened walk off by Lille players and unrest in the stadium. Lille protested the non use of the whistle yet it was ruled out as there was no technical error.
Now the answer to this depends on whether the referee is concerned about the mechanics and the furore caused by the non use of a whistle.
In Law there is no requirement for any signal whereas the advice is that a whistle should be used. The advice says that a whistle is needed for free kicks when the appropriate distance is required.
Now for me once the referee has gone with a ceremonial free kick and it has to be retaken I would advise that the retake is also ceremonial in that the *appropriate distance is required* the second time, in fact more so than the first time around.
It is likely that the main encroacher has to be cautioned and the advice is that a whistle is required to restart after a card.
Secondly as the referee has stepped in to order a retake he has taken control of the restart so it on the whistle again. I cannot envisage a situation where a retake has been ordered where the referee has not got involved with the defending team in informing them of his call and also by his very presence in and around the ball that he is not distracting the defenders, not to mention any possible card.
Now in Law the second kick is a new kick so it is just like any other kick which is covered under Law 13. So while the non use of the whistle is not a misapplication of the Law it is poor mechanics. Anytime there is a furore about technical matters such as a restart the referee has to consider the advice and guidelines which is there to assist him in managing the game.
If I have gone *ceremonial* on the first kick then it is *ceremonial* on a retake.

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 33606
Read other Q & A regarding Law 13 - Free Kicks

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site are welcomed! <>