Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef

Soccer Rules Changes 1580-2000

Panel Login

Question Number: 33617

Law 14 - The Penalty kick 9/2/2019

RE: Competitive Adult

Refjak of Malindi, Kenya Kenya asks...

At a penalty kick, when both the kicker and goal keeper offend and; a) a goal is scored, the kicker is cautioned and an IDFK is given to the opponents.
b) a goal is not scored, both kicker and keeper are cautioned and the kick is retaken.

Can I can get more light on this idea, is there fairness for the kicker really? For me, I don't see fairness in (a) but in (b); fine. Why is the law so lenient to the keeper in (a)? Or is feigning at the end of the run up more serious compared to the keeper coming forward before the ball is kicked?


Answer provided by Referee Peter Grove

Hi Refjak,
Like ref McHugh, I have never seen a case where both the kicker and the keeper offend simultaneously - and like him, I feel I'm not likely to in future either.

Anyway, as to the apparent disparity between the two scenarios, the IFAB has given what I think is an fairly cogent explanation, which was contained in the 2017/18 Laws edition when this change was introduced and goes as follows:

Clarifies the outcome when both the goalkeeper and kicker offend at the same time, which is a rare situation as usually one will have offended first. There are different outcomes because:

- if the kick is missed/saved (because of the goalkeeper's offence) both players have committed a cautionable (YC) offence so both are cautioned (YC) and the kick is retaken

- if the goal is scored, the goalkeeper has not committed a cautionable (YC) offence but as the kicker's offence is cautionable (YC) it is 'more serious' (see Law 5) and is penalised.''

Read other questions answered by Referee Peter Grove

View Referee Peter Grove profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Refjak
The thinking on this is that the actions of the kicker in A has been successful unlike that of the goalkeeper. Law 14 also makes a distinction on the more *serious* offence of illegal feinting, wrong kicker and the backwards kick. So when two offences happen together the Law wants to distinguish between the situations where a goal is scored, where it is not and *serious* offences. Personally I think it is likely that the *serious* offences as listed are the only offences likely to be committed by the kicker and I struggle to find other likely offences. Possibly verbal distraction!
Where a goal is scored it is obvious that the goalkeepers encroachment has not been successful unlike the kickers actions in which case the kick is retaken unless of course the kickers action was one of the more *serious* offences . The sanction for illegal feinting, backward kick, wrong kicker is a caution and an IDFK restart always. As you know there is no caution for a GK when a goal has been scored at a PK for encroachment.
On the second one B it is assumed that the goalkeeper has been successful in his illegal action so it is a caution for both and a retake unless it is one of the three listed *serious* offences.
I believe in reality the GK encroachment part will probably be ignored in the goal scored penalty kick scenario with the focus on the illegal feinting by the kicker. I personally have never seen a double caution and an IDFK which probably would cause some head scratching as to what went on there! I suppose even trying to discern if the GK offended in an illegal feint situation would be difficult. Unlikely to test a referee and I believe IFAB is just covering it off to deal with the paper scenarios and the wordsmiths who need an answer to these outlier scenarios.
In summary IFAB has thought this through and it is fair if the unique circumstances present themselves in a game. It is unlikely to happen.

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 33617
Read other Q & A regarding Law 14 - The Penalty kick

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site are welcomed! <>