Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef

Soccer Rules Changes 1580-2000

Panel Login

Question Number: 33657

Law 18 - Common Sense 9/17/2019

RE: Rec Under 16

james henry okwiri of nairobi, Kenya Kenya asks...

Upon a corner kick, a keeper collides with a strike simultaneously however the striker during contact heads the ball out of play. Should the referee award a penalty .

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi James
Was an offence committed and by whom? Did the attacker head the ball and then his momentum took him into the goalkeeper? Did the goalkeeper jump at, charge the opponents?
These are all judgement calls that the referee has to make.
So the answer could be no offence, a foul by the goalkeeper or a foul by the attacker.

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Peter Grove

Hi James,
Whatever the situation, the referee should only penalise a player who challenges another player in a way that is careless, reckless or uses excessive force (CRUEF). Just because a goalkeeper and opponent collide at the taking of a corner kick, it does not mean that a foul has occurred. When two players are attempting to play the ball at the same time, there is frequently body contact. Often this is no more than what we call a 'coming together' and no call is required.

It is only when the actions of one of the players meet the CRUEF definitions in the law, that a foul is called. In the example you give, if the referee judged that the keeper did in fact commit a foul at the same moment as the opponent headed the ball (meaning the ball was still in play) a penalty would be awarded.

It doesn't matter if the ball went out of play afterwards, it only matters whether the ball was in play when the offence occurred.

Read other questions answered by Referee Peter Grove

View Referee Peter Grove profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

HI James ,
referee needs to make a decision, it is his match, his reputation!
the ball is IN play until it exits the FOP.
In the altercation if the keeper FOULS the striker it MUST occur prior to the ball going out of play be it deemed careless , reckless or excessive . The reverse is true if the keeper fouls the striker.

If the referee determines it is a foul by the keeper & it is a DFK offence, if inside the PA, it becomes a PK not a goal kick, after ensuring they are ok.
Cards are also in play if the challenge was reckless a caution show yellow . One might upgrade to red followed by the send off given possible DOGSO criteria might be met if the challenge was not a reasonable attempt to win the ball? If it was SFP then show red card, send off the keeper, reduce them to ten

If the referee concludes the ball was OUT of play already PRIOR to the contact and the contact was in effect reckless or excessive THAT is misconduct and a yellow card caution or red card for VC and thus send off ahead of the goal kick after ensuring they are OK.

If the referee concludes the ball was OUT of play already PRIOR to the contact and the referee determines the contact was only careless or the contact was part of an inevitability collision declared as 50 /50 while the play was in play, we restart with the goal kick after ensuring they are OK.

Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 33657
Read other Q & A regarding Law 18 - Common Sense

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.