Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef

Soccer Rules Changes 1580-2000

Panel Login

Question Number: 33678

Law 3 - The Players 9/26/2019

RE: travel Under 16

nikkko of long branch, nj usa asks...

Penalty Kick:

After a PK is called, coach of team taking PK asks for substitute. Can that substitute take the PK?

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Nikko
Under the Laws of the Game the answer is yes. A substitute can occur at a stoppage in play, which a penalty kick is, and the referee is informed. Once the substitution is complete the substitute is a player who can take any restart.
To not allow the substitution could be unfair such as in the case of an injury resulting in the penalty kick. For instance the goalkeeper could have hurt himself and cannot continue.
Now there might be Rules of Competition in Underage that put restrictions on when substitution can occur such as during the last few minutes of a game to prevent say return substitution procedures being abused. ROCs though generally should not be contrary to the LotG so while an understanding might be in place locally without official sanction I feel that common sense should prevail. IFAB tells us us that the Laws cannot deal with every possible situation and where there is no direct provision in the Laws, IFAB expects the referee to make a decision within the ‘spirit’of the game – this often involves asking the question, ‘what would football want/expect?’ That should also apply to ROCs
As an aside the Laws have been updated with the addition of the following
** Exceptions to the requirement to leave the field of play are only when: .......A penalty kick has been awarded and the injured player will be the kicker**
That espouses the thinking of fair play in decision making as it was unfair for a player to be injured and then asked to leave for treatment when he is the designated penalty taker.

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Peter Grove

Hi Nikko,
In a game played under the IFAB's Laws of the Game, this would be allowed. The law says the substitute comes on:

''during a stoppage in play

at the halfway line

after the player being replaced has left

after receiving a signal from the referee''

It then goes on to say that once this procedure is followed:

''the substitute becomes a player and can take any restart.''

Given that at a penalty, there is a stoppage in play, a substitution can take place and since the penalty kick is a restart, the substitute who has now become a player, can take it.

Read other questions answered by Referee Peter Grove

View Referee Peter Grove profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

Hi Nikko.
unless there are specific substitution bylaws that do not permit the substitution then yes the the sub who comes on to replace the player who leaves, our sub becomes a player on the FOP and is legally permitted to take any restart including the the PK.

For a substitution to occur, often the requirements are the Substitute must be at the mid line ready to go BEFORE any stoppage! Generally the exception is an injury.

If however a referee allows a substitution at the taking of a PK, the new player is not prohibited under the FIFA LOTG from being the PK kicker . I will point out if the PK is an extended time PK or KFTPM no substitutions would be permitted with the possible exception of an injury situation.

Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 33678
Read other Q & A regarding Law 3 - The Players

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.