Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef

Soccer Rules Changes 1580-2000

Panel Login

Question Number: 33747

Law 3 - The Players 10/31/2019

RE: D1 College

NM of washingtom, dc USA asks...

A player is awarded a PK on a trip in the box. She is injured on the foul and must leave the field. Can a substitute enter the game at this time, or must she wait until after the PK?

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

Hi Coach,
as far as I know NCAA rules require that a player treated on the field and is injured unable to continue must leave the field and may be substituted. There is a substitution exception for this situation, where an immediate substitution can occur so they do not play short but on a PK only players on the FOP at the time of thee foul can take the PK so the substitute can not take the actual kick . What I am not sure of is , if the injured player is able to return later, can she switch out the substitute with no change in substitution numbers?

Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

As it is an injury NCAA Rules it states in Rule 3.5.9 that in the event of an injury a substitutes may enter the game. So a penalty kick is no different. Only those players on the field at the time the penalty kick is awarded may take the penalty kick so while the substitute can be on the field of play she cannot take the penalty kick. The referee shall identify the penalty kicker by handing the kicker the ball.
Note: In the event of an injury, only the injured player(s) may be replaced. The opponent may replace an equal number of players at the same time.

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 33747
Read other Q & A regarding Law 3 - The Players

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.