Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef

Soccer Rules Changes 1580-2000

Panel Login

Question Number: 33921

Law 14 - The Penalty kick 3/12/2020

RE: competive Adult

alex wong of richmond hill, ON Canada asks...

law 14 states 'a player of both teams offends the LOTG, the kick is retaken unless a player commits a more serious offence'.
When both teams encroach the penalty area, the kick should be retaken as per the law. However, if the keeper also moves forward off the goal line, does this fall into the 'more serious offence' and the ref should penalised the goal keeper only?

Answer provided by Referee Peter Grove

Hi Alex,
In answer to your question, when the law talks about a retake being the outcome when players from both teams encroach unless a player commits a more serious offence, then no, I don't think this applies to goalkeeper encroachment. The law actually gives an example of a more serious offence, namely illegal feinting and again, although this is just my opinion, I don't think the goalkeeper coming off the line is the kind of 'more serious offence' the law is intended to cover.

Having said that, and as my colleagues have alluded to, goalkeeper encroachment at a penalty is rarely punished unless it is a) quite, quite blatant and b) the penalty is not scored, but if it is penalised, the keeper is cautioned and the penalty is retaken.

Read other questions answered by Referee Peter Grove

View Referee Peter Grove profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

I personalty think they have messed up this portion of the LOTG. If there is TRULY simultaneous OBVIOUS misconduct PRIOR to the PK you retake no matter what happens.
Keeper off the goal line early creates a more detrimental situation to the PK taker then two boots a yard inside out behind him given the angle of the shot has been compromised slightly so if a miss occurs perhaps a retake is best where as a goal occurs but because the encroachment behind was noticeable if not really affecting play it could again be retaken.
The fact the keeper is supposed to be cautioned is in my mind a harsh additional punishment in these complex situations . If it was JUST the keeper off his line and an early attacker was just inside the PA (at exactly the same time) on a complete miss we should retake but even if a goal was scored it could not count, we should again retake. That said is anything EXACTLY the same time?

Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Alex

IFAB in my opinion has over complicated Law 14 and the sanctions etc. It is now fraught with difficulties given the possibilities of who committed the offence, the type of offence and if a goal is scored or not and if the offence is more serious or not.
As a result my view is that referees now only look for the most blatant offences at penalty kicks.
Also offences rarely if ever happen at the exact same time so in this instances if the encroachment was by an attacking player first the kick is retaken if a goal is scored and an IDFK for encroachment if not scored.
If the goalkeeper infringes first and a goal is scored it is awarded and if the penalty is missed it is retaken and a caution issued to the goalkeeper.
I personally think that referees now do not look for the two offences yet usually pick the one which is the more blatant and obvious or for that matter let it slide once the offence has no impact on play.
For instance VAR only gets involved on player encroachment when the encroaching player plays a rebound.

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 33921
Read other Q & A regarding Law 14 - The Penalty kick

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site are welcomed! <>