Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Soccer Rules Changes 1580-2000


Panel Login

Question Number: 33946

Law 10 - Determining the Outcome of a Match 6/18/2020

RE: non competitive Adult

George Weagly of Hagerstown, Maryland USA asks...

If a goalie catches a shot and stumbles and is bumped by a team mate and falls into the goal, is it a goal? The ball crossed the score line.

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi George
In this instance its a goal.
Now, if it had been an opponent that the keeper was bumped by, the referee needs to consider whether a careless foul has occurred by the opponent. Whether the goal there would be disallowed depends on the situation.
But being bumped by a teammate?
Thats a goal as long as the whole ball crosses the line.
If youre referring to the recent Aston Villa vs Sheffield United incident, the issue is that the ball crossing the line wasnt recognised - Goal Line Technology appears to have not worked in that instance and the refereeing team, for reasons unknown, were not able to recognise that fault and compensate for it.



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Peter Grove

Hi Geroge,

Yes, this would be a goal. Law 10 says that:

"A goal is scored when the whole of the ball passes over the goal line, between the goalposts and under the crossbar, provided that no offence has been committed by the team scoring the goal."

Since the team scoring the goal did not commit an offence and the ball passed wholly over the goal line, the goal would count.



Read other questions answered by Referee Peter Grove

View Referee Peter Grove profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 33946
Read other Q & A regarding Law 10 - Determining the Outcome of a Match

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




VAR (Video Assistant Referee) Questions?


Learn about VAR (Video Assistant Referee)



This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.