Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef

Soccer Rules Changes 1580-2000

Panel Login

Question Number: 33988

Kicks From The Penalty mark 9/14/2020

RE: Professional

Hussain Jan Gramkani of Muscat, Oman asks...

after taking last penalty kick in KFPM (winning kick) player takes off his shirt and celebrates. Is it a caution??

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Hussain
It could be a caution if the referee was so inclined.
However as the game is effectively over with the result decided then I would not be cautioning for such an action.
I have seen such situations on the web with the last penalty kicker after scoring running off followed by most of his team mates. No referee is going to pursue a player to issue a card in those scenarios.
My advice is that the game is over and the referee should be focussing on his end of game routine.

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Jason Wright

Hi Hussain,
It's a good question. The referee certainly still has the authority to issue cards at this point - and there are some things that you absolutely do want to issue a card for.
But ask yourself if this one is really necessary.
The 'shirt removal' caution is for removing or lifting the shirt over the head in celebration of a goal. If it's the last kick and they've won, I wouldn't be issuing that card. After all, he is celebrating the win, not the goal - and removing the shirt to celebrate a win is not a mandatory card.
That's how you justify it in the laws - and so you let them have their celebration and just start your end-of-match procedure.

Read other questions answered by Referee Jason Wright

View Referee Jason Wright profile

Answer provided by Referee Peter Grove

Hi Hussain,
As my colleagues have said, a referee could technically issue a card in such circumstances but I think if they did, they would probably be criticised for doing so. To issue a card for celebrating after the match is, to all intents and purposes already over, would for me, be suggestive of what is called 'gotcha refereeing.' This is where a referee looks for highly technical, rarely punished infractions and then seems to take pleasure in penalizing them to everyone's astonishment, a practice which I think is something best avoided.

Read other questions answered by Referee Peter Grove

View Referee Peter Grove profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 33988
Read other Q & A regarding Kicks From The Penalty mark

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site are welcomed! <>