Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Soccer Rules Changes 1580-2000


Panel Login

Question Number: 34042

High School 11/1/2020

RE: HS varsity High School

Ronald A Reed of High Bridge, New Jersey United States asks...

NFHS recently changed the drop rule. When dropping the ball to the defending goalie in the penalty area, can he/she pick up the ball???

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Ronald
When the ball touches the ground at a dropped ball it is in play and as it is inside the penalty area a goalkeeper would be allowed to use his hands to pick the ball up.
The only time a goalkeeper is restricted from using his / her hands inside the penalty area is when the ball has bern deliberately kicked to him / her by a team mate. This is a dropped ball so that restriction does not apply.
The same applies to FIFA games.





Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Peter Grove

Hi Ronald,
Yes, they can. A goalkeeper is allowed to use their hands on the ball when it is inside the penalty area. There are a few exceptions where this is not allowed, such as a ball deliberately kicked to them by a team mate. This is not one of those exceptions, therefore the keeper is free to use their hands.



Read other questions answered by Referee Peter Grove

View Referee Peter Grove profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe Manjone

Ronald,

Referees McHugh and and Grove are correct. The goalkeeper can play the dropped ball with the hands as soon as the dropped ball hits the ground.



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe Manjone

View Referee Joe Manjone profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 34042
Read other Q & A regarding High School

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




VAR (Video Assistant Referee) Questions?


Learn about VAR (Video Assistant Referee)



This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.