Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Soccer Rules Changes 1580-2000


Panel Login

Question Number: 34053

Law 14 - The Penalty kick 11/13/2020

RE: Rec Adult

Brian Lutke of Whistler, BC Canada asks...

Very simply, during a penalty kick, can the goalkeeper move laterally along his goal line prior to the kick being taken (i.e. in an attempt to distract the penalty taker)?

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

Hi Brian,
yes as long as one foot is on on or hovering above the 5 inch goal line under the crossbar and between the posts he can move laterally.
Cheers



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Brian
Yes lateral movement along the line is allowed and with the change in the Law only one foot is required to be touching the line.
The only acts of distraction that are not allowed are verbal distraction and the goalkeeper may not touch the goalposts, crossbar or goal net, until the ball has been kicked.
Watching game at all levels that is not uniformly enforced by match officials in probably the same way as minor encroachment.
For what its worth my approach was to only punish obvious breaches of Law 14 and to see minor breaches as trifling and doubtful.




Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Peter Grove

Hi Brian,
Very simply, yes. It doesn't matter if this is an attempt to distract the penalty taker or an attempt to move towards the side of the goal they guess the kick will go, it is permitted regardless.



Read other questions answered by Referee Peter Grove

View Referee Peter Grove profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 34053
Read other Q & A regarding Law 14 - The Penalty kick

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




VAR (Video Assistant Referee) Questions?


Learn about VAR (Video Assistant Referee)



This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.