Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef

Soccer Rules Changes 1580-2000

Panel Login

Question Number: 34060

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 11/22/2020

RE: Adult

Douglas Wix of Liverpool, Merseyside United Kingdom asks...

I read the story of the MLS goalkeeper being sent off for a 2nd yellow card for encroachment on a penalty kick,having already received a yellow for time wasting. I have never heard of this happening before,so why wasn't Sam Johnstone o104277f WBA given a yellow card for his penalty encroachment v Man Utd? Many thanks.

Answer provided by Referee Jason Wright

Hi Douglas,
The mandatory yellow card for keeper encroachment is a law that has been introduced within the last couple of seasons - but it only applies if the kick is retaken. If the goal is scored, then we're not going to punish or penalise goalkeeper encroachment.

Read other questions answered by Referee Jason Wright

View Referee Jason Wright profile

Answer provided by Referee Peter Grove

Hi Douglas,
I haven't seen the incident you mention with Sam Johnstone but as ref Wright says, the goalkeeper can only be cautioned if the kick is retaken. Also, as of the IFAB Laws for 2020/21, they are only cautioned for a second such offence. Law 14 now states:

"If the goalkeeper’s offence results in the kick being retaken, the goalkeeper is warned for the first offence in the game and cautioned for any subsequent offence(s) in the game."

In the case of the MLS keeper who was sent off, it was actually his first encroachment offence but unfortunately for him, the MLS season started before the latest laws edition came out and they are still using the 2019/20 laws which require for a caution even for the first offence (again, assuming the penalty has to be retaken).

Read other questions answered by Referee Peter Grove

View Referee Peter Grove profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

HI Doug,
the LOTG undergo constant evaluation.
Changes occur IF those in power can admit a flaw in the reasoning versus outcome of a particular law. In this case the caution for keeper movement resulting in a PK retake, which WAS in effect, was deemed too severe a punishment given the keeper is held to such a conditional standard at the taking on a PK . The new LOTG put forth a change to a simple warning for an offence resulting in a PK retake and IF it occurred again , then a caution show the yellow card. The MLS and the EPL have different start dates where the OLDER LOTG apply until the end their soccer season for the MLS whereas the EPL season starts right AFTER the new LOTG come out. Keepers should realize though the silly delays and trying to game the referee they create unnecessary conditions potentially resulting in them being sent off for an error of judgement more than serious foul play.

Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Douglas
It was in anticipation of an event like this that the Law was amended. The lawmakers could see this happening in the Womens World Cup so they amended the Law. In addition VAR was not used for encroachment during that WC for this very reason.
Under the current Laws of the Game there has been a number of amendments to Law 14 and KFTPM.
1. A goalkeeper now gets a verbal warning fir his first encroachment and only in the case of a repeat is it a caution.
2. Cautions issued during the match are not carried forward into kicks from the penalty mark.
3. If the ball misses the goal or rebounds from the crossbar or goalpost(s), the kick is only retaken if the goalkeeper’s offence clearly impacted on the kicker.
Unfortunately MLS is still under the 19/20 Laws of the Game so the referee did not have any discretion on the matter. Previously a retake had to be a caution. In addition if a goalkeeper was already on a caution during the game it carried over into KFTPM. That has all changed.
As to enforcement if I recall correctly you were strongly in favour of strict enforcement. In this case the GK is at worst 3/4 inches off the line. Without VAR this would not be called.
The referee does well in that an illegal substitution was made to replace the dismissed goalkeeper and that is not allowed. So to add to the situation he had to remove the replacement GK and then the team had to put an outfield player into goal.
I like many argued that only blatant encroachment should be called to prevent these type of situations happening.

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 34060
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.