Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef

Soccer Rules Changes 1580-2000

Panel Login

Question Number: 34109

Law 11 - Offside 1/23/2021

RE: Adult

John of Athens, Greece asks... at 1:47 a goal scored but a player in offside position attempted to play the ball without touching it . The goal was awarded.It is offside or good goal ?

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi John
Thanks for the question
There are two ways in which a player in an offside position can be called offside. One is interfering with play by playing or touching the ball and the 2nd way is by interfering with an opponent.
Law 11 lists four ways that a PIOP can interfere with an opponent and they are
# preventing an opponent from playing or being able to play the ball by clearly obstructing the opponent’s line of vision or
# challenging an opponent for the ball or
# clearly attempting to play a ball which is close when this action impacts on an opponent or
# making an obvious action which clearly impacts on the ability of an opponent to play the ball
From the video we can say that the attacker did not touch the ball so he did not interfere with play. We are left thrn with interfering with an opponent to consider. The PIOP did not challenge an opponent, he did not obstruct an opponent's view and his action did not impact on the ability of an opponent to play the ball. We are then left with the consideration as to whether his attempt to play the ball impacted on an opponent.
To me the attempt to play the ball happened behind the goalkeeper so in my opinion that had no impact on the goalkeeper or for that matter any defender to play or participate in play in which case the goal was good.
Had he touched the ball it would have been called offside or if the attempt to play the ball happened in front of an opponent that would have been called offside as well.

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

Hi John,
the fact that a PIOP (player in an office position) has TRIED to touch the ball is irrelevant, he did not, thus, he has NOT interfered with play!
The ONLY determination we have left to make was, in the ATTEMPT to play the ball, did this PIOP inadvertently or deliberately, somehow, INTERFERE with any OPPONENTS' attempt or ability to play the ball? Based on the position & actions of the PIOP, he was not interfering, blocking, or hindering an opponent from doing so, thus a good goal.

Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 34109
Read other Q & A regarding Law 11 - Offside

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.