Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef

Soccer Rules Changes 1580-2000

Panel Login

Question Number: 34151

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 3/9/2021

RE: Rec Adult

Russell of Sydney, Australia asks...

Anyone know what the restart to this was?
(fast forward to the 26 second mark)

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Russell
The game was between Alabama and Florida Gators in the US Southeastern Conference.
The referee awarded a penalty kick and in my opinion it was the correct decision. The defender fails to win the ball and her action which involved her equipment caused a trip on the attacker.
It is tackling in a careless manner.
Here is another example
In my opinion Red is guilty of a careless tackle on White and it is White laces getting caught up that brought him to ground.

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

Hi Russell,
I do hope you and those you care about are surviving this crazy COVID time.
In a u-17 youth match, many years ago I had a defender with a loose cleat/stud on the bottom of his boot who wound up stepping on the attacker's boot laces which were undone and stringing along as he ran. The laces were wrapped up under the cleat? Who would you fault? The attacker trailing the loose lace or the defender's loose stud? In my match, I felt it was the attacker's equipment that created the incident so far that ANYONE could step on the trailing lace at any time. I have ordered players with loose & undone laces to tie them up so their equipment can (a) not come off) ((b) not act as a tripping mechanism. So INDFK for PIADM? or a violation of law 4 lol ?

The funny thing is in watching it was the defender's foot that got inside the loop of the attackers? I do wonder at the PK being given if there was NO other contact with the foot except the loose lace overlap where the defender's foot and cleats could go through it to be entrapped? Or did the defender step on the foot and enlarged the loop?. DOGSO criteria might be met although caution is only given inside the PA BUT in my opinion no need for even a caution although I do not know if one was issued?

Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 34151
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.