Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Soccer Rules Changes 1580-2000


Panel Login

Question Number: 34230

Mechanics 5/22/2021

RE: Pro Adult

Crebs Crem of Zagreb, Croatia asks...

Hello,
This is going to be a very extra-ordinary scenario but I still wish to ask. Assume that when blue team is attacking, a foul by blue team is missed by the referee. The attack went on and a penalty for blue team is also missed by the referee. Red team gained possession but after a while, blue team won the ball again and scored a goal. In this scenario, how should video referee take action. Should he/she suggest a review? If the head referee starts a review, what should his/her decision be?

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Crebs
Thanks for the question.
In many ways because Blue has scored what would be the logic in going back to the original Blue penalty incident for review?
Indeed there could be a chance that if a penalty kick was awarded that it could be missed. So the correct decision is to allow play to continue and award the goal which is the ultimate advantage and restart with a kick off.
If the offences merited cards then the referee would be entitled to review those either using VAR or on the advice of another match official and have a look / be told at what he missed. The appropriate card/s can be issued before the kick off restart.



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

Hi Crebs,
NOT sure if I got this straight?
Is it the RED team that was fouled by the blue team while the blue team was attacking (this incident was off the ball but missed?) then a red player fouled a blue player in the red penalty area (also missed) red gains ball control for a bit then blue regain ball control and scores? There were no stoppages in between until the goal stops play. ?
First off why were they missed? AR saw it, 4th official saw it' but no CR awareness?
Not great communication going on here? But if VAR caught something they all missed its slightly possible!

If say a blue player struck a red player watching along the touchline, he raised up an elbow as he slid past but only the 4th or trail AR witnessed it or just the VAR . With the ball action upfield, it gets delayed from being reported.

You then say a PK incident IN favor of blue occurs AFTER this VC missed foul (let's say a missed handling where the near AR saw but the CR did not pay attention sigh )

The teams trade ball possession then blue scores. so play is halted.

Now If we restarted with a kick-off all that occurred before is done with we can not take away the goal and go back.

We WOULD NOT go back to the missed PK foul on blue as blue scored there is no advantage in that.

HOWEVER, if there was a missed event where a blue player had violently struck a red player and ONLY now the CR was being informed it is possible to eliminate the goal and go back to that point where the elbowing had occurred It would be ugly but sellable if only NOW the CR was made aware of it. Kind of like the ZIDANE situation where play kept going, even with a stoppage/restart free kick in favor of the French occurred.
Yet Zidane was still sent off for his VC. They used a drop ball restart back then as the injured player was still on the deck after Zidane was shown a red card & sent off reducing France to 10 men.

So while it is a convoluted timeline It would be a DFK & a possible card shown, even send off if required from where that elbowing/foul occurred if the blue goal was disallowed and a free kick for red was awarded for the PAST missed foul. Possible only because there was NO stoppage & restarts in between these 2 events. The initial foul against the red and the blue goal.
Cheers



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 34230
Read other Q & A regarding Mechanics

The following questions were asked as a follow up to the above question...

See Question: 34232

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef



This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.