Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Soccer Rules Changes 1580-2000


Panel Login

Question Number: 34243

Law 11 - Offside 6/13/2021

RE: Competitive Adult

Peter Babbage of Hjorring , Denmark asks...

In the Euro games Wales v Switzerland a Swiss player had his shirt almost ripped off him by the defender in the area. The ball then broke to another attacker who missed the goal. I doubt the ref had time to shout advantage. So should a penalty be awarded for the initial foul?

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

Hi, Peter,
well the opinion of the referee could loom large here, was it a CLEAR advantage in that a PK and likely a card to follow could result in a red card man-down situation depending on the circumstances? We might wait to see if a goal results as the only set of circumstances that best fit the incident otherwise we go with the PK but I have seen strange things occur! I had been prepared to award the PK and send off the defender for DOGSO but the miskick resulted in the ball hitting the post and squirted to an onside teammate totally open on the opposing side of the goal about 4 feet from the post. I delayed the whistle waiting for the tap in goal when he swung the leg and managed to scoop the ball less than a yard from the goal line over top the crossbar lol I went with the goal kick but still sent the defender off. We all had a good laugh. No Pk would be easier than that sitter from less than a yard with no one around!
Cheers



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Peter
As always the goal chance connected with an offence can go either way. Generally referees tend not to give the penalty when an offence may have had little impact on the play or subsequent play.
In this instance the referee would have been perfectly entitled to call the shirt pulling with the award of a penalty kick and a caution for unsporting behaviour. However he along with VAR perhaps decided that there was a clear advantage with the offence having no impact on play or as Referee Grove points out that perhaps both players were tugging each other and as seen in many other situations both oblivious to the contact.
I recall a number of seasons ago in the Premier League game between Sunderland and Cardiff City Referee Phil Dowd pulled play back after allowing advantage with the award of a penalty kick and a red card.. At the time it was hailed as a great decision by Gus Poyet the Sunderland manager
https://www.eurosport.com/football/premier-league/2013-2014/poyet-hails-dowd-s-decision_sto4229235/story.shtml
The reason was and it is still prevalent today is that referees rarely call play back on goal scoring opportunities where there is an advantage and the chance is taken.




Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Peter Grove

Hi Peter, if this is the incident I'm thinking of, while we could see from first camera angle that the Welsh player was indeed holding the Swiss player's shirt, on subsequent replays although it was a little tricky to spot, it seemed relatively clear to me that the Swiss player was also holding the Welsh player's shirt so the referee who may well have had a better view of it than the cameras, may have seen it as six of one and half a dozen of another.



Read other questions answered by Referee Peter Grove

View Referee Peter Grove profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 34243
Read other Q & A regarding Law 11 - Offside

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef



This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.