Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef

Soccer Rules Changes 1580-2000

Panel Login

Question Number: 34313

Law 14 - The Penalty kick 8/21/2021

RE: rec Under 13

michael paine of apex, NC United States asks...

hand ball in penalty area. players line up for penalty kick. kicker kicks the ball over the goal before the referee blows tthe whistle. does to kicker get a second chance

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Michael
The answer is yes and in fact it must be a retake whether a goal is scored or not.
It is one if the few times that a whistle is required for a restart.

Now it can work both ways. The initial kick can be scored and its a retake and perhaps the retake second kick being missed.
The whistle is to ensure that everyone is ready including the goalkeeper for the kick to be taken. It would be unfair if the GK is waiting for a whistle and the ball sails past him into the goal.

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Jason Wright

Hi Michael,

This is one area where I think the law isn't fair and doesn't make sense - but it must be a retake. When the law is black-and-white, as it is here, the referee has no leeway to make a judgement call - and attempting to do so can cause bigger problems.

Read other questions answered by Referee Jason Wright

View Referee Jason Wright profile

Answer provided by Referee Peter Grove

Hi Michael,
While Law 14 itself only specifically references a "signal" by the referee, the Guidelines for Match Officials section of the Laws says that a whistle is required to:

"restart play for: ... penalty kicks"

So in practice yes, if the player kicks the ball before the referee has whistled for the penalty to be taken, the kick must be retaken because the ball was not actually in play when it was kicked.

Read other questions answered by Referee Peter Grove

View Referee Peter Grove profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

Hi Michael,
Hmm, I was pretty sure in all the excitement that I, as the referee, blew the whistle or gave a signal and the goal kick restart goes ahead without incident.

The PK taker would have to be a complete obtuse idiot to ignore the direct information that NOTHING happens until the whistle sounds as I handed him the ball, maintained eye contact, and got a recognizable response with a, yes sir, or an up and down head nod or a thumbs up assuring me he is aware of the protocols! Should the penalty kick CLEARLY be taken without a signal, before the referee was ready to continue, the kicker could be cautioned & shown a yellow card for delaying the restart or USB for the misconduct of such an action. In essence, it's not two bites as play was NOT yet restarted but I agree there is a taint should he score on the retake of the PK restart lol

Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 34313
Read other Q & A regarding Law 14 - The Penalty kick

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site are welcomed! <>