Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef

Soccer Rules Changes 1580-2000

Panel Login

Question Number: 34349

Law 13 - Free Kicks 9/25/2021

RE: Rec Under 14

Ray Morris of Benton, La US asks...

Indirect kick awarded , player shoots directly at goal touches goalie.

Is the goal awarded

Answer provided by Referee Jason Wright

Hi Ray,

Once an IFK touches any player after the kick is taken, it can be a goal - this includes the goalkeeper.

That's why sometimes you do see players kick an indirect straight at the keeper, hoping for a fumble or a deflection into the goal.

Read other questions answered by Referee Jason Wright

View Referee Jason Wright profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

Hi Ray,
if on an INDFK the ball was to make contact with the keeper be it deliberate or accidental that is a 2nd touch and if that ball were to continue on its way into the goal, over the goal line, under the crossbar & between the posts, we have a good goal with a kick off restart .
It is only a very astute or aware keeper that has the whereall to let that ball pass them by into the goal untouched a 2nd time KNOWING that as an INDFK they will get the goal kick out. That is WHY the INDFK signal of the raised arm is CRUCIAL information the referee MUST signal correctly ahead of that type of free kick.

Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Peter Grove

Hi Ray,
The short answer is yes. In this scenario, so long as the ball touches a second player before completely crossing the goal line (and no other offense was committed by the team scoring the goal) the goal is awarded.

Read other questions answered by Referee Peter Grove

View Referee Peter Grove profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Ray
Yes the goal is awarded.
Law 13 tells us that if an indirect free kick enters the opponents’ goal DIRECTLY a goal kick is awarded. If the ball is played / touched by another player including the goalkeeper then that is not directly so the goal is good.
The law does not distinguish between players in free kicks so an opponent's touch is the same as the kicker’s team mate touch.

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 34349
Read other Q & A regarding Law 13 - Free Kicks

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site are welcomed! <>