Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef

Soccer Rules Changes 1580-2000

Panel Login

Question Number: 34389

Law 14 - The Penalty kick 10/22/2021

RE: Adult

Kevin Green of Skipton, England asks...

VAR ask the ref to check a penalty decision after the half or full time whistle and a penalty is awarded.
The penalty is saved, but the ball remains in play, is that the end of the half/game or can a goal still be scored?

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Kevin
Thanks for the question.
This very situation happened in a recent Manchester United v Leicester City game.
The referee blew for full time and VAR advised the referee that there was a deliberate handling before the final whistle.
At approximately 1.20 the incident is shown where the referee blows the whiistle to end the game yet VAR intervened.
As the penalty kick had to be last kick of the game as time had fully expired the referee just went with a regular penalty kick set up. The game ended with the goal scored yet had it rebounded the referee had to be ultra quick on the whistle to stop any follow up. He would have no choice but to end the game on a miss as time had fully elapsed.
So the ball cannot be touched for a second time by any player other than the goalkeeper who can make a save to stop the ball rebounding off a post etc.

It s a pretty rare event as most referee will rarely end the game on a penalty award.

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Peter Grove

Hi Kevin,
In the scenario you describe, additional time is being allowed for the penalty to be taken. In this situation, Law 14 says that:

"When additional time is allowed, the penalty kick is completed when, after the kick has been taken, the ball stops moving, goes out of play, is played by any player (including the kicker) other than the defending goalkeeper, or the referee stops play for an offence by the kicker or the kicker’s team."

Once the penalty is saved, play has perhaps not quite completely ended but as ref McHugh points out, no-one other than the keeper can touch the ball. So a goal cannot be scored unless, despite the initial save, the ball's spin and/or momentum then carries it into the net. Certainly, there can be no follow up by either the penalty taker, or any outfield player on either side.

Read other questions answered by Referee Peter Grove

View Referee Peter Grove profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 34389
Read other Q & A regarding Law 14 - The Penalty kick

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site are welcomed! <>