Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Soccer Rules Changes 1580-2000


Panel Login

Question Number: 34406

Law 11 - Offside 11/2/2021

RE: Recreation Under 15

JIM BARTLEY of Deeside, FLINTSHIRE United Kingdom asks...

Player A standing in an offside position behind keeper when Player B shoots. Keeper saves but parrys the ball towards Player A. Player A scores. Referee says once keeper touches the ball Player A becomes on side. Is this a correct decision because it happened 3 times in the game with the same explanation from the referee.

Many thanks in anticipation.

Jim

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

HI Jlm, a
keeper makes a deliberate save and the ball rebounds to a PIOP that PIOP is quilty of offside and an INDFK out is awarded.

I seriously doubt that player A as a PIOP had any business participating in play as gaining an advantage should likely be the call with an INDFK out.

However, IF the keeper chooses to parry an easily handled ball, as a deliberate PLAY it could reset any restriction of a PIOP with no offside! I recall a high lob shot that the keeper basically caught the ball then released it to his feet almost at the same time unaware there was a PIOP some 20 feet inbehind him. THe PIOP came up quielty and took the ball away and scored a good goal because the keeper had made a deliberate controlled play it was not a deflection or rebound or SAVE! A Parry is generally considered a deliberate controlled action not a reaction.
Cheers



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Jim
A save by any player including a goalkeeper does not reset offside so if a player in an offside position receives the ball from a save he has gained an advantage by being in that position and therefore offside.
A save is defined as ** An action by a player to stop or attempt to stop the ball when it is going into or very close to the goal using any part of the body except the hands/arms (unless a goalkeeper within their own penalty area)**

I suspect that the referee has not seen the goalkeeper’s touch as a save yet rather a deliberate play and a reset. Any touch by the goalkeeper will never be a reset in a save situation so I believe the referee has got it wrong here.

As to why that happened three times I cant really say. Perhaps the referee misinterpreted the deliberate play advice which is a reset? Maybe he did not see them as saves? Three times though is questionable as there had to be a save in there somewhere?
In my experience unless there was obvious attempts to parry the ball on very weak shots that were going "wrong" most referees would see rebounds as not resetting offside.
I certainly would be changing tactics after the 2nd one and not relying on offside calls along with dealing with rebounds!




Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Peter Grove

Hi Jim,
Based on your description and the wording of Law 11, it sure sounds like these were offside offences. A player who receives the ball from a deliberate save by an opponent is considered to have gained an advantage in terms of an offside decision.

Law 11 states that a player who is in an offside position when the ball is touched by a team mate, is penalised on becoming involved in active play by:

"gaining an advantage by playing the ball ... when it has: ... been deliberately saved by any opponent"

While a player can be "played onside" by a deliberate play by an opponent, this does not apply to a deliberate save by the goalkeeper (or other defender).

Unless the referee is thinking that these were not deliberate saves by the keeper, then the offside should have been given.



Read other questions answered by Referee Peter Grove

View Referee Peter Grove profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 34406
Read other Q & A regarding Law 11 - Offside

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef



This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.