Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef

Soccer Rules Changes 1580-2000

Panel Login

Question Number: 34463

Law 15 - The Throw In 1/2/2022

RE: Adult

Michael Ponting of Corby, England asks...

Have the throw in rules changed , the reason for the question is a throw in should be taken at the point the ball left the field of play however in a game today a throw was taken 25 yards from where it should be taken , the ref blew for the three being taken in the wrong place but gave the ball to the same team to throw in from the correct place.

Answer provided by Referee Jason Wright

Hi Michael,

No change here - a throw taken from the wrong place should go to the other team.

As a referee we try to be proactive - and if, for instance, I've blown my whistle just before the throw is taken to try and prevent the restart, this will be a retake. But if I've clearly blown it in response to the throw being from the wrong place, then it's a throw for the other team.

Read other questions answered by Referee Jason Wright

View Referee Jason Wright profile

Answer provided by Referee Peter Grove

Hi Michael,
I suspect from the tenor of your question that you probably knew this already, but just to confirm - the throw-in law has not changed. At least not recently, and not in terms of the outcome for an improperly-taken throw.

As ref Wright correctly points out, in the scenario where the throw is already taken before the referee's decision is made, the throw should go to the other team. I suppose the only way round this is if the referee opines that they had already decided to blow the whistle to stop proceedings before the throw was taken. In this case, it could technically be seen as permissible to award a retake, as the decision had already been made, even though the throw was taken before the referee could get the whistle to their lips.

It's also possible the referee might just have got it wrong, though.

Read other questions answered by Referee Peter Grove

View Referee Peter Grove profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Michael
Like you I have seen some pretty relaxed attitude by referees towards Law 15 in recent times. In a recent PL game I saw an incident where a ball was kept from going out for a goal kick by an attacker and it was kicked out for a throw in close to the corner flag.

The thrower proceeded to walk up the touchline, stopping and starting. Eventually he got up level with the 18 yard line and the referee whistled to stop him, motioning him back. He took a few tame steps back and then stopped again and came right back up to his original position to take the throw.

No sanction was taken and it has become one of those parts of the Law that is not enforced particularly at the Pro level. So to answer your question there has been no change in Law 15 to do with position of the throw nor a retake being allowed on an incorrectly taken throw.

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 34463
Read other Q & A regarding Law 15 - The Throw In

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.