Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef

Soccer Rules Changes 1580-2000

Panel Login

Question Number: 34653

Law 16 - The Goal Kick 8/2/2022

RE: competitive Other

Zano Pascall of Harare, Harare Zimbabwe asks...

What decision can I give if while trying to take a goal kick the defender, who is taking the goal kick falls and in the process kicks the ball but falls and handles the ball before it leaves the penalty area?

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Zano
Thanks for the question

Law 16 has changed in that the ball is now in play at a goal kick when it is kicked and moved. The ball no longer has to leave the penalty area to be in play.

Now the correct answer is that as the ball is in play with the kick so the defender has deliberately handled the ball inside the penalty area for which a penalty kick is awarded. It is also a double touch offence yet the more serious offence of deliberate handling is what is called. The referee has to also consider whether the action by the defender stopped a promising attack or denied an obvious goal scoring opportunity in which case the player is either cautioned or dismissed. If neither happened then a penalty kick would suffice.

Now a referee might opine that the slip / fall was in fact not a kick and therefore might decide that the kick should be taken correctly. Say at underage a referee might decide to be generous with young players who slip whereas at open age a deliberate action will be punished fully under the laws.

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 34653
Read other Q & A regarding Law 16 - The Goal Kick

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.