Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef

Soccer Rules Changes 1580-2000

Panel Login

Question Number: 34669

Mechanics 8/20/2022

Crebs Crem of Zagreb, Croatia asks...


In the following scenario, should VAR intervene?

Team A player takes a shot, the ball deflects from team B player and heads out of play. Another team B player tries to prevent the ball from going out of play for a corner kick and therefore kicks the ball into the pitch as the ball was near the goal line. However, team A player receives the ball and scores a goal. Then, VAR realises that the ball was out for a corner kick as team B player was trying to prevent the ball from going outside the pitch.

The the scenario above, can VAR advice the centre referee to disallow the goal and restart the play with a corner kick? Or, should VAR not intervene since the infringement has not been committed by the player of the attacking team?

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Crebs
As the ball was out of play leading up to a goal VAR will intervene on what is a matter of fact of the ball being out of play. A corner kick direction decision is not VAR reviewable so if the officials get that wrong so be it. It’s just part of play.
The reason is the VAR protocol does not want every decision in the game to be subject of a review only major decisions. This is because the VAR will only check the attacking possession phase that led to the goal, and the starting point is limited to the immediate phase, in this case trying to keep the ball in play.
It makes no difference who is trying to keep the ball in play and it is a matter of fact that the ball was out of play. The restart is a corner kick.

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 34669
Read other Q & A regarding Mechanics

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site are welcomed! <>