Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Soccer Rules Changes 1580-2000


Panel Login

Question Number: 34690

Law 11 - Offside 9/3/2022

Petr of Prague, Czech Republic Czech Republic asks...

Hello,

I have another question, please :-)

Goalkeeper takes free kick from own goal area (similar to goal kick).

Does the offside rule apply?

Thanks!

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Petr
Yes offside will apply. Offside does not apply at a goal kick, throw in or a corner kick. Offside applies at all other times including free kicks even those inside the goal area.
It is important for the referee to communicate that it is a free kick rather than a goal kick with the appropriate signal so that ARs are aware that offside applies.



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

Hi Petr ,
YES offside is in play
Only for the 3 situations mentioned under the LOTG, goal kick corner kick or throw in is offside not in play initially on the first touch .
While an outgoing DFK or an INDFK taken within the goal area can be placed anywhere inside the goal area same as a goal kick it can make a difference on a short field where a long clearance can land in the oppositions half of the field if offside is or is not in play at that time!
Cheers



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 34690
Read other Q & A regarding Law 11 - Offside

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef



This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.