Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Soccer Rules Changes 1580-2000


Panel Login

Question Number: 34727

Mechanics 10/5/2022

Steve of Altadena, us asks...

This question is a follow up to question 34715

I think the panel missed an important aspect of the question. The VAR protocols allow for the review of the attacking phase of play ("APP") before a PK.

As the panel noted, the VAR really should have had play stopped sooner, but once VAR acted, it should first check the potential foul in the PA. If there was a clear and obvious error in not awarding the PK, then the VAR should check the APP. If the handling by team A in the APP was a clear an obvious error, then the FK for team B would take precedence over the PK, as it occurred in the APP.

Of course, this is a bit weird, as it takes away a goal form team B to give them a FK. As far as I know there is nothing in the protocols that really contemplates the extreme scenario, but I'm pretty sure the PK would mean the goal can't be awarded, but then the FK means the PK can't be awarded, so there is no goal and a FK for B.

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

Hi Steve,
you could be right. A Pk foul on an offside opponent would certainly speak to that point. As you indicated this is a highly dark black hole matter in that its chances are about the same as two offside players from opposing teams are running after the same ball. A handling that occurs outside the PA is not an auto foul as it is inside. Outside it must be considered deliberate & if accidently beneficial it is not punished like it would be in the PA. The fact the defenders choose to commit a PK foul inside the PA on a non offside opponent and it was due to the missed handling earlier is a huge stretch unless the guy tucked the ball into his armpit and ran with it then and accept that was the case that the foul was so blatantly clear no other result is considered, The LOTG allow an referee to go back to unsighted occurrences in behind play but to miss two blatant fouls in a row with the first causing the second the referee is in for a long 90 minutes.



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

hi Steve
From recent observations of what is happening in Europe there appears to be a disconnect between what is written and its application.

You make a good point and the VAR protocol allows for the consideration of an offence by the attacking team in the build-up to a penalty incident. As to timing on that it is not clear and I suspect it would have to be in the attacking phase to be considered. What that means is obviously in the training given to VAR officials.

So yes play could technically be brought all the way back to the original missed deliberate handling. It might be the *best* decision in the circumstances.

In the Ireland v Armenia penalty decision Armenia were complaining that the award of the corner kick to Ireland was incorrect which was then followed by the penalty call from the resultant corner. That is not part of a review.






Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 34727
Read other Q & A regarding Mechanics

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef



This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.