Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef

Soccer Rules Changes 1580-2000

Panel Login

Question Number: 34745

Law 17 - The Corner Kick 10/22/2022

RE: Competitive Under 12

Raymond of San Francisco, CA United States asks...

This question is a follow up to question 34743

Thank you for your detailed responses. One odd part of the situation is that, although I read the directive in a note from my local ref association, it's being passed along from CNRA, or the California North Referee Administration. Unless I have my wires crossed, CNRA is one level below USSF and is in charge of a very large area. I'm confused why they're telling us to let coaches deceive in this way. It just seems strange.

I marked the age wrong in my first post, by the way. It wasn't 12 year olds, but rather U12. That means it was 9v9 on a half field, and the technical area was really not very far from the corner flag. Somehow the coach's proximity to the play and the young age of the kids make the deception feel worse than it would have with older kids on a full pitch.

In a U11 game this morning I had an easier situation. On goal kicks, one of the goalies would dribble the ball back onto the field, position it for a moment, and then, without lifting his foot off the ball, roll it to a teammate who'd dribble or kick it from there. Even if people were confused (as I momentarily was), it was a goal kick, so it didn't affect much. When I realized that they were going to keep doing it, I asked the goalie to make sure to lift his foot off for a moment so that no one was confused about when play was restarting, and we were good from there. (Probably I should have done that from the outset, but it was an odd enough look that I needed to see it 2x to figure out what they were doing.)

Thanks again.


Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

HI Ray,
you are most welcome from all of us here!
It looks like you are doing your best to garner understanding and experience so good on you,
I suppose if the association decides to say its ok and make it the law of their land that this verbal conundrum is ok then it cannot be unknown by defenders who should rush all attempts. The other opposing coaches should be aware and a shout out, he kicked it, it's in play should jog the memories. Seems odd but USA along with the rest of this planet, is in a pretty odd place at the moment, all things considered! Lots of unnecessary changes and many bad ones are currently being formed!

The fact the ball no longer has to leave the PA to be in play on goal kicks has certainly created a few oops, but you are aware, then as referee your decision, your match, your reputation is now being cultivated!

Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Raymond
If a player or coach shouted LEAVE IT would it attract howls of illegality? We know that not all shouts such as that are illegal and it is up the referee to decide based on the circumstances
If the shout is to distract an opponent away from a ball that is in play is that not the same by suggesting through a shout that the ball cannot be played as it is not in play. Is it not akin to a play on words to leave it. Just because a name is used or that it appears as tactical instruction changes nothing in the corner kick ruse.

As to the goal kick one of the challenges facing referees can be to decide if the ball is kicked into play or not under the new amended law
Have a look at this video
Was the kick taken? Certainly the referee thought so and as the double touch denied a goal scoring opportunity a red card was issued. I would agree that it looks like the GK kicked the ball to the defender who seemed to not want it. So I would agree that the referee was correct in his interpretation at this level of play.

At U11 I would be going with a retake

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 34745
Read other Q & A regarding Law 17 - The Corner Kick

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site are welcomed! <>