Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef

Soccer Rules Changes 1580-2000

Panel Login

Question Number: 34768

Law 11 - Offside 11/20/2022

RE: A league Under 13

Chris of Boston , Lincs Uk asks...

If a striker shoots while a player on his team is off side, the keeper saves but pushes the ball out to the the original off side player who then scores, should the goal stand or is he classed as off side and no goal is allowed?

Answer provided by Referee Jason Wright

Hi Chris,

It sounds like you're referencing the part of offside that if a defender plays the ball (that is, a deliberate touch of the ball with a reasonable opportunity for control, as opposed to a desperate lunge with a glancing touch where they never had a chance of control), it nullifies offside.

An exception to this is if a defender (keeper included) makes a save - that's a ball going at or close to goal.

So, if there's a shot, keeper handles the ball and it goes to an opponent who was in an offside position when the original shot was taken, it's still offside.

Of course, I don't know what the original decision was or whether it was correct - but bear in mind that the AR (and even the referee) is considering offside position of all these players before the shot was taken, whereas spectators only really look at the attacker when they receive the ball.

Read other questions answered by Referee Jason Wright

View Referee Jason Wright profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Chris
There is a section in Law11 which refers to gaining an advantage by being in an offside position.
The relevant clause states that ** gaining an advantage by playing the ball or interfering with an opponent when it has: # rebounded or been deflected off the goalpost, crossbar, match official or an opponent # been deliberately saved by any opponent**

So if an attacker is in an offside position and the ball is saved say by the goalkeeper that player in an offside position at the moment of the shot will be called offside when the player interferes with play or an opponent.
In your example assuming offside position by the attacker at the moment of the shot and a save then the goal should be disallowed for offside.

The difficulty can be determining offside position at the time of tne shot as the focus by the referee can be on the shot and then the save rather than determining offside position particularly if it is tight. With neutral assistant referees the call will be easier

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

Hi Chris ,
the LOTG clearly state WHEN a player is offside positioned (thus restricted from interfering with play, ball or opponent) The positional location when the team mate LAST touches the ball. Its like taking a freeze frame picture at a specific moment in time.
Keep in mind players MOVE as the ball moves, so when an attacking player actually becomes involved in play he can be a non offside player who appears offside who is now getting involved legally just as easily as he could be a PIOP ( Player in offside position)earlier who is now getting involved illegally.

If a keeper in performance of their duties ( mishandles a difficult catch or REDIRECTS a shot away from their goal such actions are usually considered saves, or associated with rebounds or deflections and they do NOT reset the opposition's offside restriction.

If a defending opponent including keeper makes a deliberate play on the ball with sufficient awareness, time & control (NOT a rebound or deflection) and that touch was NOT considered a save on goal such an action would reset the offside restriction.

Based on your description it appears that an INDFK out is the best choice given a keeper is making a SAVE and a PIOP is benefiting from their position and the goal scored should be disallowed!

Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 34768
Read other Q & A regarding Law 11 - Offside

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site are welcomed! <>