Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef

Soccer Rules Changes 1580-2000

Panel Login

Question Number: 34769

Law 11 - Offside 11/20/2022

RE: Pro Under 19

Abdulazeez of Jacksonville , FL United States asks...

If i was dribbling with the ball and the other team mate trying to take the ball and both team in one side of the field and i took the ball to opposing team by my self and I scored does that count or its a offside.

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

If you are describing a solo dribble run with the ball with no involvement of a team mate then there cannot be any offside.

I could envisage a situation where a team mate impedes the ability of an opponent to challenge for the ball from an offside position which could be either impeding with contact or offside if the team mate in an offside position interfered with an opponent in a way that met the offside criteria.

Being in an offside position is not an offence and the PIOP has to do something more to be called offside.

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Jason Wright

Thanks for your question.

Offside always involves TWO attackers - offside position is always considered when an attacking teammate touches the ball you can't run the ball yourself to put yourself offside.

So, you said that there was a teammate trying to take the ball. If any part of that teammate (except the arms) was in front of the ball AND past the 2nd last line of the defence and he touched the ball, or interfered with an opponent, then there's an offside offence. Even if you didn't mean for your teammate to touch the eball or get involved.

Read other questions answered by Referee Jason Wright

View Referee Jason Wright profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

HI Abdulazeez.

I might have misread your statement that it was a teammate accompanying you as opposed to the other team trying to take the ball off of you?

If you are on your side of midfield upon the last touch of the ball by a teammate or if that ball was last deliberately played by an opponent, you are free to dribble that ball any which way you wish.

As long as there was no restricted teammate PIOP who interfered before you started your dribble allowing you to get to that ball first ahead of an opponent. If a teammate accompanies you on the run towards the opposition goal hopefully, he does not get ahead of the ball in an offside position while you touch it. Because even if he was to accidently touch/play the ball offside could apply! One you cross over the midline EVERY Time you touch the ball the CR looks at offside positions by other teammates should they exist.

If you start a dribble with a touch of that ball before you cross the midline, attacking on your own, no offside is possible as you are alone and you started in an onside position Cheers

Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 34769
Read other Q & A regarding Law 11 - Offside

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site are welcomed! <>