Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef

Soccer Rules Changes 1580-2000

Panel Login

Question Number: 34786

Other 12/1/2022

RE: World Cup

Barry Stewart of Chilliwack , BC Canada asks...

To its credit, FIFA has made moves to make its language consistent throughout the book of laws, a recent example being how a goal kick is in play as soon as it is kicked… not when it clears the area, as in the past.

In this vein, let’s look at Sam Adekugbe’s goal in Canada’s 2-1 loss to Morocco.

“What? That was an own goal, wasn’t it?”

I say no. Using the advice on offside calls: if a Canadian had been in an offside position and received the glancing deflections off the Moroccan defender and keeper, he surely would have been blown down as offside.

If the Moroccans had no deliberate control on their deflections, then surely Adekugbe should get credit for his shot/pass. Yes?

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

HI Barry,
The criteria for how goals are awarded has ZERO to do with the referee . It sucks to be the owner of an own goal but basically the designation implies without your interference there would be no goal thus you caused it? This is different if say you block a shot that WAS on goal and would have scored and you had it deflect off of you .

Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Barry
Who is credited with a goal is only of concern to the scorer, any award for goals scored, fantasy football and betting.

An own goal is awarded when the actions of a defender / goalkeeper causes the ball to be directed into the goal when it is destined elsewhere such as wide or away from goal.

In the Morocco goal it was a cross that if it was not touched would have gone across goal rather than into it hence the own goal.

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 34786
Read other Q & A regarding Other

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.