Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Soccer Rules Changes 1580-2000


Panel Login

Question Number: 34790

Law 11 - Offside 12/2/2022

Petr of Prague, Czech Republic Czech Republic asks...

This question is a follow up to question 34776

Hello,

Mr Dawson writes about Ronaldo's theoretical offside/onside:

'The thing was he TRIED to head (redirect the ball) but missed! The ball did NOT skim off his head it went directly into the corner of the goal so his attempt to play the ball fails and the fact is that ball was ALWAYS headed into the goal. Thus the goal would count.'

Mr McHugh writes about Bentekes's goal this:

'In the Liverpool goal the goalkeeper moved to anticipate the failed attempt to play the ball by the PIOP which then impacted on his ability to deal with the actual touch by the scorer. That would now be called as offside.'

It seems to me that Mr. McHugh's answer could apply to Ronaldo's action as well. The second striker is missing there, but Ronaldo certainly provokes some reaction from the goalkeeper.

(# clearly attempting to play a ball which is close when this action impacts on an opponent)

I'm starting to get a headache from offsides/onsides at this World Cup :-)

Gentlemen, I wish you a nice day!

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Petr

The main point is that Ronaldo was not in an offside position when the cross was made so the goal was good.

Had Ronaldo been in an offside position the goal would have been disallowed for offside, touch or no touch, for interfering with an opponent.

The only point to consider was the goal credited to Ronaldo or to Fernandez? FIFA awarded the goal to Fernandez after the technology in the ball did not detect any contact by Ronaldo.




Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

HI Petr,
When you theorize a maybe, IF he was offside restricted you need context. , If you read the line above when I was mentioning the missed touch & lines below I suggested he could be seen as interfering with the keeper. , As long as no defender was interfered with the fact the PIOP DID NOT touch the ball the goal would stand!

You are 100% correct if the referee felt the action of a PIOP involved freezing /affecting the keeper, then interfering with the opponent, NOT interfering with play is a correct distinction. The key point is offside attackers who try to play (TOUCH the ball) but FAIL as long as they have not been deemed guilty of affecting the opponent unfairly by interfering in their ability to participate.

I can see where it was confusing using Ronaldo's non touch to illustrate the attempt to interfere participate in play is NOT sufficient, he must in fact TOUCH the ball .

However, to be involved in the actions that directly affected the keeper the interfering with the opponent part of offside could apply so replace, would with could, as each situation is dependent on the circumstances of who is where and why. The question could be in the mind of the referee if that PLAYER if PIOP was removed from the FOP would that goal have occurred?

Cheers



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 34790
Read other Q & A regarding Law 11 - Offside

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

<>
This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.