Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef

Soccer Rules Changes 1580-2000

Panel Login

Question Number: 34907

Mechanics 3/9/2023

Petr of Prague, Czech Republic Czech Republic asks...

This question is a follow up to question 34906

Thank you. The VAR assessment is a bit strange. Imagine that there is an attacker A15 alone. A15 shoots wide. Then VAR seems to be silent. Everything changes defender B8. A little unfair, it seems. :-)

Have a nice day!

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Petr
Not really unfair when the LotG is infringed.
One could say the same about a goalkeeper moving a foot a few inches off the line before the kick or the attacker whose foot is slightly beyond the offside line or the handling that in real time with the referee close by seeing it as clearly accidental yet slow motion or freeze frame looks otherwise
Might be seen as unfair but such are the vagaries of the minutiae of VAR

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

Hi Petr,
black and white, yes or no, With VAR, 1 centimeter in either direction you are on side or offside. In encroachment its generally super easy when there is only 1 player from either team . . It gets complicated when both teams do it, so rather than try to analyze and figure out who was a bit more of the notable infringer. BOTH are held responsible thus a restart no matter the result. The silly accidental rebound of a ball off the arm discounts a legitimate goal due to perceived possibilities not reality. We do not make the LOTG we just try to work with them as best we can. U 21 men's match, the attacker took a heater of a shot directly into the gonads that dropped him down, as he collapsed the ball caught his arm as it rolled to a teammate who scored except he didn't sigh!

Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 34907
Read other Q & A regarding Mechanics

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site are welcomed! <>