Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Soccer Rules Changes 1580-2000


Panel Login

Question Number: 34911

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 3/10/2023

Crebs Crem of Zagreb, Croatia asks...

Hi,

I have a question regarding the handball rule.

The rule states it is an offence if a player scores in the opponents’ goal:
- directly from their hand/arm, even if accidental, including by the goalkeeper
- immediately after the ball has touched their hand/arm, even if accidental

When saying “immediately”, does it mean single touch?
Is it an offence if the ball touches the player’s arm accidentally, the player dribbles the ball for 2-3 steps, takes a shot and scores a goal?

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Crebs
While immediately is not defined it is understood much like advantage in that it is within 3 to 4 seconds which could run to multiple touches.

In your example 2 to 3 steps would certainly be considered immediately so the goal should be disallowed and a direct free kick restart





Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

Hi Crebs,
funny two quick questions on this same topic lol 34910 was on this same topic.
Much like advantage is calculated within that 2 to 3 possibly 4 second window when a referee decides yes or no if it was achieved, so too this handling issue has an expiry date of a few seconds. A slight variation is if the accidental handling was beneficial for control but that player instead of scoring or shooting were to redirect a pass to a teammate who scored, UNLESS the pass was an immediate tap over to a teammate who_ IMMEDIATELY_ scored in an empty net chances are the goal could count as a new phase of play.
Cheers



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 34911
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

The following questions were asked as a follow up to the above question...

See Question: 34930

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

<>
This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.