Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef

Soccer Rules Changes 1580-2000

Panel Login

Question Number: 34990

Kicks From The Penalty mark 5/30/2023

RE: Amateur Other

Isk of Bs As, Bs As Argentina asks...

Hi, I've got a question that I cannot find the exact case in the IFAB or FIFA rules.
In a penalty shootout, what happens, when the ball hits any of the bars or even the goalkeeper, and comes in the opposite direction and turns back because of wind or just the ball effect, and finally comes in the goal. I couldnt find examples of this, but I read two different opinions, the first one is in the rules, and says the penalty is finished when the ball finally stop, but I've read, that when the penalty is shot, and the balls comes back on the opposite way of the goal, after hitting the bar, or even the goalkeeper, the penalty is finished.

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Thanks for the question

The answer is there in the statement in Law 14 and I quote ** The penalty kick is completed when the ball stops moving, goes out of play or the referee stops play for any offence.**. Law 14 rules apply to KFTPM with an obvious exception that a 2nd kick is not permitted by the kicker. Not sure where the 2nd opinion came from but it would not be an official source.

There is nothing new in this and the current law wording as quoted has had many wordings over the years since it was updated in the Laws as a Decision after a clarification going back to the World Cup of 1986 in a game between Brazil and France that went to KFTPM.
See 4.00 minutes in.

At 4.00 in the video #16 France - Bruno Bellone takes the penalty and it hits the post and rebounds off the post and hits the goalkeeper before entering the goal. Romanian Referee Igna correctly awarded the goal. This did cause a fuss at the time and afterwards by a miffed Brazil team. The goal was good and it was confirmed by IFAB as the correct decision.

Have a look at these four penalties in KFTPM

All four goals were correctly awarded as the balls never stopped moving from the original kicks by the kickers. The 3rd one which happened in Italy was appealed after the game and the goal decision was ruled as correct.

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

HI Isk,
when a ball is KICKED off the PK spot that kick imparts force/momentum into the ball!

Now the ball is on a journey towards the goal!

The question asked? When is the PK over?

Keep in mind that KFTPM to determine a winner or an extended PK have a different set of conditions than a PK in regulation! Follow up play by the kicker & or others is allowed in regulation with certain conditions as the match time is not yet completed but NOT in the other two examples where the match is technically over or time has expired for the half.

If the ball misses the goal and goes wide or high into touch the PK is OVER!
If the ball bulges the back of the netting, having completely crossed the goal line under the crossbar and between the posts assuming no offences were committed it is a goal and the PK is OVER.

I With KFTPM or extended PKS the Keeper catches and controls the ball holding it dead in his arms or the ball is not moving lying on the ground the PK is declared OVER!

If the ball is rebounding out off either post, the crossbar or the keeper or any combination there off and has NOT completely 100% crossed the goal line under the crossbar and between the posts and that ball is rolling or headed backout towards midfield with NO chance of it having backspin imparted at the time of the kick then a referee could forgo it coming to a dead stop and declare the PK over.

I reiterate though ONLY when it is CLEARLY true! In the video my colleague posts you will see a follow up PK on after the 3rd one where the keeper stops the ball and that ball is still moving but in no way was it coming back towards the goal unlike the fortuitous bouncing back spinning ball the other 4 keepers did not anticipate!

A rebounding ball with backspin can easily reverse itself and move away then back towards the goal under its OWN power . A dead ball that is has used up all its energy and comes to rest ONLY to have a 50 mile an hour wind gust starts it back towards the goal in my opinion the PK should have been declared over.

I point out that a bouncing ball is still moving as is a rolling ball that reverses its self due to backspin. Now on a windy day should the wind be favourable to the PK kicker blowing towards the goal it is plausible that ball gets a wee bit of extra milage as to how far it travels. If a keeper in the angst of stopping the PK bobbles the control and that ball rolls and squirts away, the referee is not likely to judge it as stopped or voluntarily relinquished after securing control just releasing it to celebrate & throw it into the air. Chances are that goal would count as the PK is not finished unless the referee says it was!

Teams can be guilty of offences during the PK or KFTPM procedures resulting in a stoppage or a retake or ignored as it can be considered advantageous for the aggrieved party in that it does not affect the result or offers a better one.
On extended PKS or KFTPM just two players present, the PK kicker and the keeper. Early keeper movement is often used as an excuse to retake .

On a regulation PK we could have all kinds of encroachment as there are 20 additional players that could affect the outcome based on procedural miscues. .
The PK if taken & missed and the result was tarnished by early keeper movement or defenders encroaching is not over but could be retaken. Just as if the PK kicker scored a goal but if he or an attacking teammate did something wrong no goal is allowed & it might be retaken or an INDFK awarded out with loss of possession,.

Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 34990
Read other Q & A regarding Kicks From The Penalty mark

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site are welcomed! <>