Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef

Soccer Rules Changes 1580-2000

Panel Login

Question Number: 35126

Mechanics 9/30/2023

RE: Adult

AEK Fan Club Of NY of ASTORIA, NY USA asks...

This question is a follow up to question 35123

Thank you for your answer. The referee was not shown the tackle on player 19, just player 12, after having awarded the penalty, for tackle on player 12.
So the question is, should the referee have also been shown the tackle on player 19, even though as you say in your opinion it still was not. But is that the decsion of the VAR or should have the referee been shown that incident also?

Thnx again

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

Ah ok, I get you, in the on field tv review ONLY the 2nd tackle was reviewed. So you think that the VAR discounted the first tackle as not worthy of review as a DFK foul tackle in of its self (thus a PK) but showed the 2nd because there appeared to be no contact on that tackle from their view? The referee obviously agreed with the VAR reasoning and reversed his decision so no PK! Yet I see no reason VAR would have him 2nd guess his earlier decision to allow play, then claim it was a PK but the 2nd was not? Sigh just too much doubt and foolishness to contemplate.

As a personal opinion on positioning and management, that stiff legged studs up jump towards the 1st player is still a concern. If I saw it, that player could get a warning from me that he is extremely lucky there was no contact Now it was obvious the defender was shot blocking not player targeting but I have seen wild tackles of a similar nature get a stern lecture or even a booking if truly there was no intent to play the ball but intimidate the opponent.

Lets agree, a PK is a big deal & provides at least an 80% chance to score a goal.
Plus there are often cards and even send offs aligned with the results.
These decisions are not always easy or clear cut.

VAR is supposed to highlight major flaws as opposed to counter referee decisions on facts of play, seen in real time.
VAR input is still subject to the final decision of the on field referee, albeit foolish to go against a CLEAR undisputable fact! His match! His decision! His reputation!
VAR has no reason TO intervene, in cases where the contact is arbitrarily vague or unclear and the referee has already decided to let play go.
VAR only chimes in when they feel or see an event as definitely wrong or contrary to the LOTG.

Given they said nothing on the first challenge but ONLY felt the PK awarded for the 2nd challenge was incorrect, VAR was obviously thinking dive or at least no contact was there warranting a DFK foul for tripping. (WAS THERE A CAUTION yellow card shown for that player after the VAR review supported no PK???)


Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

The referee is the official charged with making decisions not VAR.
If the VAR official felt the referee made a clear and obvious error in the first challenge he would bring that to the attention of the referee.
So once VAR looked at the first incident the official would not have seen anything untoward that required a review of that incident as well. So no clear and obvious error that required a review.
Please remember that the game is not refereed by VAR and that VAR is there to assist the referee on clear and obvious errors only. The only obvious error here was the award of the penalty kick which was corrected by an on-field review.
By the way if the referee thought the penalty award was correct he can still go with his original decision.

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 35126
Read other Q & A regarding Mechanics

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.