Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef

Soccer Rules Changes 1580-2000

Panel Login

Question Number: 35131

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 10/1/2023

RE: Competitive Adult

Peter Babbage of Hjørring, Denmark asks...

A players shot looks certain to hit the post. A defender handles it and it goes wide. Clearly a penalty but is it DOGSO as the opposition now has a chance to score from the spot?

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

HI Peter,
while it is true a the referee has the discretion to judge if a ball is ALREADY going wide, but a swerving ball destined for hitting the post might be difficult to set aside as not a shot at the goal which the HANDLING prevented. If indeed the referee stated NOT a shot ON goal in his opinion the handling did not deny a goal, the DFK offence of handling if inside the PA is 100% a PK but the card COULD be downgraded to yellow for an unsporting action thus a caution instead of a send off, reduce the team by a player for denying the goal. The fact a PK is awarded inside the PA for the deliberate action of handling the CRITERIA of DOGSO must all be met to add the extra ignominy of the red sleigh send off!

Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Peter
In open play and at speed it is unlikely that a referee will be 100% certain the ball is not headed into the goal and as such the action will be seen as a deliberate attempt to deny an obvious goal.

It will be expected that the player should be dismissed for the offence and it will be very difficult to argue that it was going to hit a post or for that matter to go wide.

To not dismiss the player in such an obvious situation would create all sorts of problems for the referee. In many ways the player’s action is being done to stop a goal so a red card will not be unexpected whereas a caution will be.

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 35131
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.