Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef

Soccer Rules Changes 1580-2000

Panel Login

Question Number: 35132

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 10/1/2023

RE: Amateur Adult

Mühenned Elseyho of Kahramanmara, Kahramanmara Turkey asks...

This question is a follow up to question 35127

Thank you , but I want to hear a clear answer to a specific point: Is clean possession of the ball from the opponent on the ground of the foot (the place of the spikes) always considered dangerous play, just like raising the foot close to the opponent’s face, and will the referee award an indirect free kick due to the lack of contact?

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

HI Mühenned ,
in trying to imagine the scenario you are describing I am thinking a direct answer NO!
PIADM is indeed an INDFK but it is NOT always awarded just because, every situation must be judged on merit. WAS the opponent UNFAIRLY affected by the dangerous action? What if both players do as you suggest at the same time? Are the opponents within playing distance or challenging for possession? Do they THEN stop, shy away, due to the possibility of an injury, either to themselves or the opponent? The high foot or playing the ball on the ground COULD be interpreted as PIADM but only if the actions are affecting actual opponents. In cases of studs showing while lunging with stiff leg even getting the ball cleanly with no contact might still get you a DFK or cautioned for a reckless action.
Hope this clears it for you . If you can see if you can find a video showing the incidents in question. It makes it easier to comment then to imagine!

What I was referring too in the last response is if both players are aiming to challenge for a waist high or head high ball, who gets there first and how that challenge unfolds often determines fault. A header at waist high nearly gets a boot in the teeth might be more his fault. Whereas a player attempting a header standing up. who sees a boot flash up high by his eyes and backs away it is likely the opponent is at fault . Be it PIADM or a DFK action. You can make an iffy challenge, catch all ball and hopefully no contact occurs. It is often a foot to foot or foot to leg contact on the follow through where such tackles are scrutinized for who is at fault, kicking into or arriving late to the party!

Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Mühenned
These are judgement calls that a referee has to make as to whether a raised boot with the sruds showing poses a risk of playing in a dangerous manner or if there is contact whether the action has been careless or reckless.

I used to remark at the difference between different countries on raised boots and in Europe raised boots was less tolerated than in the UK and Ireland. The divergence has lessen in recent years with more safety conscious officiating so generally studs showing towards an opponent is likely to draw a foul.

Players do not like raised boot challenges and they do attracts shouts of protest due to the risk posed when they happen. With no contact some referees may let it slide yet with high intensity it can get called quite easily with an admonishment to be more careful.

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 35132
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

The following questions were asked as a follow up to the above question...

See Question: 35133

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.