Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef

Soccer Rules Changes 1580-2000

Panel Login

Question Number: 35228

Law 3 - The Players 11/15/2023

RE: Undergraduate Adult

Hussaini Abubakar of Kankara Local Government , Katsina State Nigeria asks...

Can a subbed player play penalty in the laws of foot ball

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Hussani
Not sure what you mean by your question.

Any player, legally on the field of play, can take a penalty kick.
That means that if a substitute replaces a player at a substitution, that allows the entering substitute to take a penalty kick.

If a player has been subbed out, that player takes no further part in the game.

Obviously substitutes who are on the bench, cannot take part in the game, until, they become a player, under the substitution law in Law 3.

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

Hi Hussani,
are you are referring to a PK in real match time, not KFTPM to determine a result?
As long as the team HAS not used up its quota of substitutions there is no reason a player could not be substituted prior to the PK restart occurring, as it is a stoppage. The substituted player would take no part of the rest of the match. The oncoming new player aka (the substitute) could then take the PK if that was the intent of the substitution!

What can not occur is, if a match ends, and KFTPM are required to determine a winner, ONLY the players legally on the FOP at the end of the match, can partake of those kicks . And then, ONLY, after reduce to equate, the selection where a player(s) could be removed to equal out the number of players on either team. if one had sent off players in the match earlier.

Yet even here, there is a slight chance of a substitution which applies ONLY to a single entity from both teams. If the "KEEPER" was to become injured and IF that team had NOT yet used up its' substitution quota earlier, it is remotely possible this new KEEPER could, as an oncoming substitute, now a certified player, actually take a turn at a kick. As no players can go twice until all others have gone once!

Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 35228
Read other Q & A regarding Law 3 - The Players

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site are welcomed! <>