Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef

Soccer Rules Changes 1580-2000

Panel Login

Question Number: 35236

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 11/18/2023

RE: Amateur Adult

Mühenned Elseyho of Onikisubat, Kahramanmaras Turkey asks...

In this shot, the yellow player fell spontaneously, obstructing the opponent. Is there a mistake in such situations?

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

HI Muhenned ,
the mistake was the red players should have kept playing as the referee did not spot anything to whistle. For me there was not enough but it is a tad difficult to be sure, I thought perhaps once the yellow player lost their balance he kind of scrambled / lunged to block the defender by crawling on the ground and stretching out, so a potential tripping/impeding? Possibly the free arm of the downed yellow player might have poked the ball or caught the foot/leg of the red defender but with no obvious or clear foul, the moral of the story to future players, if no whistle, then KEEP playing!
I can see the referee here was totally dismissive of red's lamentations.
In my opinion, goal, restart kick off! Cheers

Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Mühenned
It is clear that Reds felt that Yellow falling in front of the Red challenger impeded his progress and there is an element of impeding in it.
I suspect the referee did not see an intentional action by the fall of Yellow and in many ways Red was too *civil* in his reaction to Yellow. He even stretches out an hand to acknowledge the fall and he makes little if any complaint to the referee.

From the referees perspective he sees Yellow fall accidentally and that Red makes no attempt to continue after the ball yet turns to the Yellow opponent with an outstretched hand. The player who gains possession of the ball should have been challenged by Red yet moves forward with no pressure.
Referees take cues from players reactions and this would not look like an intentional foul which is why it was not called.

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 35236
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site are welcomed! <>