Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Soccer Rules Changes 1580-2000


Panel Login

Question Number: 35254

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 11/26/2023

RE: Adult

Robert Boss of Swadlicote, Derbyshire UK asks...

A goalkeeper makes a save. He then releases the ball by dropping the ball on his foot and kicks the ball downfield. The wind catches the ball, which bounces over the opposing goalkeeper and straight into the opposition goal.
Does this mean that by the first goalkeeper by releasing the ball and immediately scoring, and by the virtue of law 12 being breached concedes a penalty?

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh


Hi Robert
Not sure what you mean here or what Law 12 breach there has been?

The goalkeeper made a save and then kicked the ball down field either as a punt or off the ground so there cannot be any offence. Its a perfectly good goal.
Plenty of examples here.
https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=QUp6OyrHoMc&pp=ygUQR29hbGtlZXBlciBnb2FsIA%3D%3D

From your description its what goalkeepers do and they are entitled to kick the ball downfield. If it happens to make it into the opponents goal such as shown in the videos the goal is good.




Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

HI Robert.
I too am equally puzzled, the keeper has to my calculations just scored a good goal? His handling of a ball inside the PA is permitted? Unless the keeper had committed some infraction, his longshot at goal stands!
Cheers



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Jason Wright

Hi Robert,

Thanks for your question but I'm a little unclear as to your concern here.

Are you asking if this would fall under the 'handles the ball and immediately scores' clause that would typically apply to attackers scoring a goal? If so, this would be legal.

First, a goalkeeper can never give away a penalty kick for handling the ball, even though this offence normally carries a direct free kick/penalty kick.

We can look to Law 10.1: Goal Scored
If the goalkeeper throws the ball directly into the opponents’ goal, a goal kick is awarded.

This isn't your exact situation, but it does tell us that if a GK scores from their hands, it's not a FK - but a goal kick. Therefore, there seem to be different considerations for a GK, perhaps it's because they can't give away a PK in their own PA for handling, or perhaps it's because the nature of their role requires handling.

However, from that law, we can infer that it's only THROWING the ball into the goal that's a problem. If they also wanted to rule out a drop-kick/punt, they'd say so. Therefore, this would be a legal goal.



Read other questions answered by Referee Jason Wright

View Referee Jason Wright profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 35254
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

<>
This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.