Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef

Soccer Rules Changes 1580-2000

Panel Login

Question Number: 35535

Law 11 - Offside 5/24/2024

Petr of Prague, Czech Republic Czech Republic asks...

This question is a follow up to question 35531


I found one video that perfectly illustrates exactly what I mean.

Endo in an offside position blocks a defender who is close to a player who later scores.

And now let's imagine that another red player touches the ball in the air. Endo is already onside at that moment.

Will the goal count? If not, we don't assess the last touch, but the previous one. It's the same as my dribble example.

Thank you very much!

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Petr
Thanks for tne video.
This looks more like holding than offside to me. The PIOP has only one intention which is to prevent an opponent from moving in after the ball by holding an opponent . It is a perfect example of a screen so I could easily see why it would be called as a foul.
Whether it is called as offside or a foul it is still an offence by the player in an offside position.

Put it another way. If the PIOP did not block an opponent it would not be called as offside.

As to a second touch that requires a re-evaluation of offside. In fact it happens quite a lot as a PIOP can wait for a second touch with the PIOP getting onside for that 2nd touch and perhaps by doing so has avoided close marking.

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

HI Petr,
the PIOP AFFECTED PLAY, thus WAS involved, thus INDFK OUT is a correct analysis. If we see it as a holding or pick as there was ACTUAL contact a DFK, if he was onside at the taking of that free kick and that contact occurs I doubt that gets called but if it was a set screen/pick it should be a holding/charging DFK foul.

Look at the flight of the ball and where the attacker who scores makes contact via the header! NOW remove/erase the PIOP and ask yourself the defender he ran into, what could his position be at he time of the header if he had continued his run into towards goal?

If this same sequence occurs but lets say the header is saved and rebounds away only to be played by an onside teammate for goal. That initial PIOP is no longer offside positioned but it does not alter the FACTS , he interfered with an opponent (NOT the ball) when he was restricted from play earlier! If I was the AR and I saw a PIOP interface with a defender moving into a position to potentially have a chance to play the ball and there is contact such as we witnessed in the video, my flag is raised!

For me the key aspects in evaluating a PIOP. ONCE you are a PIOP thus restricted you can not play the ball, you can not interfere with the opponent! You can run amuck, try and chase, as long as your actions are having NO effect on the outcome of play you can be ignored! The INDFK occurs WHEN the involvement occurs be it away from the ball or not.


Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 35535
Read other Q & A regarding Law 11 - Offside

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site are welcomed! <>