Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Soccer Rules Changes 1580-2000


Panel Login


Question 11 thru 20 of 20130

[Previous] [Next]

Law 14 - The Penalty kick 9/30/2020

Petr of Prague, Czech Republic Czech Republic asks...

Hello,

one short question, please.

The Penalty Kick rule says: 'When the ball is kicked, the defending goalkeeper must have at least part of one foot touching, or in line with, the goal line.'

So can this foot be in t...

Read The Full Q & A

High School 9/29/2020

Jason C. of Lacrosse, WI USA asks...

Ball over the top to a striker making a run... CB reaches up and swats the ball away. It's a clear DOGSO red card but the AR communicates that the striker making the run who was denied an obvious goal scoring opportunity was offsides. Is this still a...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 9/28/2020

Rob Mowat of Port Coquitlam , British Columbia Canada asks...

In the trailing minutes of a game, the goalkeeper was sent off on dogso for a ball handling infraction outside the PA.

The play and ball was in their attacking zone. The keeper was well out of the net just inside her half. (They were down ...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 8 - The Start and Restart of Play 9/27/2020

Joe Schmitt of LOUISVILLE, KY United States asks...

So with the new law that the team that touches the ball last will get to take the dropped ball. Does touch mean possession or does touch mean just touched it? Had that issue at a U10 Rec game on Saturday where the defender and attacker were tusslin...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 9/26/2020

Laurence Hill of Christchurch , New Zealand asks...

After a free kick was awarded the fouled player threw a punch and the opposition player reacted by grabbing the player who threw the punch by the shirt near but not on his throat. Should this result in a red card to both players or just the player wh...

Read The Full Q & A

League Specific 9/26/2020

Carsen Cachelin of Lititz, Pennsylvania USA asks...

I had a coach tell me that there are no penalty kick if a player is fouled inside the box for u10 and that it is supposed to be an indirect free kick. Is this true...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 14 - The Penalty kick 9/22/2020

Petr of Prague, Czech Republic Czech Republic asks...

I also have one specific situation from last weekend.

Video (in time 4:55):

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jzYRXkquHGc

Both teams entered the penalty area before the kick. But the "Red 25" benefited from this situati...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 9/22/2020

Demetris of Limassol, Cyprus asks...

Hello there,I like to know your opinion if it was a faul or not on the goalkeeper at 1.20 (Anorthosis v Apollon 1-3 for the Cyprus league dated Sep20) .The goalkeeper seems to hold or touch the ball momentarily with one hand before(or at the same tim...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 3 - The Players 9/21/2020

Muhammad Rizwan Khan of Abbottabad, Abbottabad Pakistan asks...

Sir,

before start of the match / before kick off if any of players committed serious offence like fight with opponent and deserve red card. As we know still its before kick off when this offender sent off it can be substitute with any oth...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 14 - The Penalty kick 9/20/2020

Petr of Prague, Czech Republic Czech Republic asks...

Hello,

one situation, please.

The player takes a penalty kick. His teammate enters the penalty area before the ball moves. The goalkeeper saves the ball (or bounces it back into the field, or deflects it off the field).

Read The Full Q & A

[Previous] [Next]

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




VAR (Video Assistant Referee) Questions?


Learn about VAR (Video Assistant Referee)



This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.