Soccer Rule Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Soccer Rules Changes 1580-2000


Panel Login
Soccer Referee Questions on Soccer Rules

You-Call-It 83

Question...

Blue attacker lofts ball over red defender into space, the defender deliberately raises his hand towards the ball and deflects the ball over his head using his hand in a punching closed fist motion much like a keeper might do, two blue attackers one from the right one from the left are bearing down on the ball so as referee you yell Advantage, signal with the arms and play on. Right side player gets to ball then chooses to drop pass to the open left side for left blue player who scores only you now see the the AR flag is up for offside.

You go over and ask for the AR's input.

'The right side blue player was in an offside position before the defender deliberately handled the ball when the blue teammate kicked the ball. I kept my flag down per our pregame discussion, becaI was not sure which blue attacker would get to the ball first as one was onside and the other offside positioned. I did not think the offside blue player involved himself until he actually touched the ball. Although the defender deliberately handled the ball I saw it as a deflection to the offside attacker. As referee you say thank you and do what and why? Your Decision? Your Match! Your Reputation!

Our Hint

Our Answer...

That was our Question YOUR Answer is...

Matt a Referee from Bristow VA USA

I've flip-flopped on this one several times. However, I've found the thinnest of evidence to back up my final answer...GOAL!

Since it is not clearly stated that the original pass was not in the PA, one can assume that it was not near the goal and therefore, we would not judge the handling to be a deliberate save (although I found reference to an UEFA interpretation stating that only handling by the GK could be a deliberate save). Instead, the handling is a deliberate play which resets offside. With advantage being played after the handling infraction, the goal counts as there is no offside infraction.

Before I leave my AR, I note the goal scored as we are talking. Put my card back in my pocket. Smile at my AR and give him a thumbs up then blow my whistle and point to the circle followed by an immediate sprint to get into position for the kick-off. Basically, I try to have my non-verbals convey confidence and try to ward off as much dissent as possible.

AskTheref.com Educating and Amusing The Soccer Referee Since October 11, 1999

Soccer Referee Extras
Sunday, October 25, 2020

VAR (Video Assistant Referee) Questions?


Learn about VAR (Video Assistant Referee)


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Recent Questions



Click Go to view all recently posted questions