Soccer Rule Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Soccer Rules Changes 1580-2000


Panel Login
Soccer Referee Questions on Soccer Rules

You-Call-It 86

Question...

Player on red team goes after a ball that had been kicked out of play. The ball rolls down an embankment and a parent on the sideline throws the player another ball. The red player immediately throws the ball in play and it is headed by a teammate in to the opposing teams goal. You notice that the ball is not one that you had previously seen. What is your call?

Our Hint

Refer to Law 2

Our Answer...

According to Law 2 "The ball may not be changed during the match without the referee' permission", Referee should restart with a red throw-in once ball is replaced by with an approved ball. Law 2 states, "Additional balls which meet the requirements of Law 2 may be placed around the field of play and their use is under the referee's control."

That was our Question YOUR Answer is...

Matt a Referee from Bristow VA USA

Easy one...
Law 2 states that, "The ball may not be changed during the match without the referee’s permission."

Therefore, since the ball was not legally put into play, the restart is a red throw-in after the referee has approved the ball.

Follow-on question, the same scenario, but the ball goes out for a goal kick which is taken but immediately put back into the goal by a poaching attacker. The goalie takes the ball out of the net and realizes that it's the wrong size. Do you go back to the throw-in or goal kick?

AskTheref.com Educating and Amusing The Soccer Referee Since October 11, 1999

Soccer Referee Extras
Sunday, October 25, 2020

VAR (Video Assistant Referee) Questions?


Learn about VAR (Video Assistant Referee)


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Recent Questions



Click Go to view all recently posted questions