Law 1 Field of Play
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef

Soccer Rules Changes 1580-2000

Panel Login

Law 16 - Goal Kick
Question 21 thru 30 of 240

[Previous] [Next]

Law 16 - Goal Kick 9/13/2015

Barry Stewart of Chilliwack, BC Canada asks...

Richard Dawson said, '...The 2nd touch occurred because it was not hard enough or was it to prevent an opponent outside from getting a great chance? The reasoning MIGHT factor into a delaying the restart and whether a caution is warranted.'


Read The Full Q & A

Law 16 - Goal Kick 9/11/2015

Edward Abraham of Agawam, Massachusetts United States asks...

While a defensive player was taking a Goal Kick, he touched the ball a second time prior to it leaving the penalty area (double touch). He basically was trying to dribble it out of the box. I stopped the play and requested a 'Re-Kick' noting that th...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 16 - Goal Kick 9/4/2015

Tom of Dana Point, CA US asks...

I understand that the ball is not in play on a goal kick unless and until it clears the penalty area, so that if an attacker or defender touches it inside the PA, the goal kick is retaken. What about the scenario when the player who took the kick is ...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 16 - Goal Kick 9/1/2015

K Hinze of Columbus, OH United States asks...

I understand the that you cannot be offside on a goal kick if you are an attacker on team A and your own team is taking the goal kick. My question on this Scenario: Team B goalkeeper is taking a goal kick and team A player lines up just outside the p...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 16 - Goal Kick 8/8/2015

gary brunen of Manchester, United Kingdom asks...

If the ball has gone out for a goal kick so it's a dead ball goal kick taken from the 6 yard line, if he is lucky enough to be able to kick it that far whether wind assisted bounced or just bad keeping by the other keeper, is that still a goal. It's ...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 16 - Goal Kick 8/4/2015

Liam O'Brien of Middlesbrough, North Yorkshire United Kingdom asks...

This question was actually referred to FIFA by a referee who posts on another refereeing website. His email and their reply are quoted below.

'Dear Mr. B.....,

Yes, as for any kick the ball has to be stationary (e.g. free kick, kic...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 16 - Goal Kick 8/2/2015

Russell of Harlow, Essex United Kingdom asks...

At a goal kick does the ball need to be stationary or can it be kicked when rolling...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 16 - Goal Kick 8/2/2015

shourob of dhaka, bangladesh asks...

Can goal be directly from goal kick when nobody touch the ball?...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 16 - Goal Kick 7/27/2015

Dave Dischiavo of Latham, NY USA asks...

Can a player taking a goal kick from thier own goal box turn around and score on their own goal? They would not do this of course; but can they do it legally and score an own goal? If not, who gets the ball and where? ...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 16 - Goal Kick 7/12/2015

Andrew of Scarborough, Western Australia Australia asks...

We just had a strange decision where the opposition took a throw near our goal.
They threw it down the touchline looking for their player, but neither their attacker nor our defender touched it and it went out of play past the goal line.

Read The Full Q & A

[Previous] [Next]

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef


This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site are welcomed! <>