Law 1 Field of Play
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef

Soccer Rules Changes 1580-2000

Panel Login

Law 9 - The Ball in and out of Play
Question 21 thru 30 of 192

[Previous] [Next]

Law 9 - The Ball in and out of Play 3/16/2019

John Nagel of Wilmette, IL USA asks...

It looks to me like the there was an infringement on this PK during Chicago Fire/Seattle Sounders game today. The kicker touched the ball a second time after rebound off the crossbar. Am I missing something? See

Read The Full Q & A

Law 9 - The Ball in and out of Play 7/19/2018

Ramadas MR of Cochin, Kerala India asks...

I came across a situation where referee blown whistle near penalty box in a futsal match for a foul/handball in favour of attacking team. Without stopping the play(running ball) attacking team scored goal in 1-2 secs after whistle. The goal should be...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 9 - The Ball in and out of Play 6/7/2018

John of Palo Alto, California United States asks...

What is the rule on a referee reversing his decision. The scenario was as follows:

One team plays the ball into the attacking box where 2 players from their team were waiting. As one is shooting, the referee blows his whistle for offsides. T...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 9 - The Ball in and out of Play 6/7/2018

Derek of Cary, IL USA asks...

Fox Sports will have a CableCam system at the World Cup, similar to what we see in the NFL.

What would happen if the ball in flight touches the CableCam system?
I assume it would be the same as an overhanging tree; it's part of the field...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 9 - The Ball in and out of Play 5/16/2018

George of Parangarecutirimicuaro, CA Sacratomato asks...

Red attacker is fouled (shirt tug) as he enters the box by the 18. Just when attacker seems to lose his footing, CR blows play dead. Somehow, attacker regains his composure right after the whistle and scores.

I know the play is dead since wh...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 9 - The Ball in and out of Play 3/5/2018

George Savage of Miami, Florida USA asks...

On a play, the head referee blew his whistle when he thought there was a clear offsides by the offense. After he blew his whistle, the defense and keeper stopped play and the offensive player kicked the ball into the goal. The head referee converse...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 9 - The Ball in and out of Play 10/7/2017

Dave Bober of Waynesville, NC US asks...

A player takes a shot on goal..the keeper picks the ball up and rolls it to one of his own players. As soon as he releases the ball it is in play correct...and the player may be standing in the box....what i'm asking is it doesn't have to leave the b...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 9 - The Ball in and out of Play 9/8/2017

george of Parangarecutirimicuaro, CA Sacratomato asks...

An attacking player is dribbling down the sideline with an ongoing challenge from a defender. Defender complains ball is out but trailing AR signals ball is still in play. As both players arrive near the corner flag, the defender finally wins the cha...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 9 - The Ball in and out of Play 6/14/2017

Gerald Ebuka of Owerri, Imo Nigeria asks...

Some football players in school once argued with me that a whistle is blown when ever a goal is scored, i made it clear to them that a whistle is blown when a goal has been scored and the ball still appears to be in play. TRUE OR FALSE? ...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 9 - The Ball in and out of Play 6/11/2017

Chrism of Brisbane, QLD Australia asks...

If the goalie handles the ball in the box and puts one of his feet outside the field of play (over back line beside the goal) is the ball in or out? The ball remains in the box....

Read The Full Q & A

[Previous] [Next]

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef


This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site are welcomed! <>