Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Soccer Rules Changes 1580-2000


Panel Login

Question Number: 13704

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 9/8/2006

RE: Adult

Chip Hamlin of Nashville, TN USA asks...

This question is a follow up to question 13648

Does diving on a ball by a keeper well outside the 18 warrant a card in addition to the DFK?

Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino

That depends. The keeper has deliberately handled the ball outside his own penalty area so DFK for sure. If by doing that he also denied a goal or obvious goal scoring opportunity he would be sent off and shown the red card. If he did so in such a manner that the referee felt it was also unsporting behavior, a caution may be issued and the yellow card shown



Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino

View Referee Keith Contarino profile

Answer provided by Referee Chuck Fleischer

This can run from just plain old deliberate handling to unsporting behavior as well or even denying a goal or obvious goal scoring opportunity. It all depends on under what circumstances the handling takes place.

Regards,



Read other questions answered by Referee Chuck Fleischer

View Referee Chuck Fleischer profile

Answer provided by Referee Ben Mueller

If he deliberatly handles ball outside penalty area, then it is a dfk. Next the referee must decide if he denied a obvious goal scoring opportunity. Lots of factors to look at here such as defenders between ball and goal, distance ball was to goal, angle of ball, and distance any attackers were from making a play at ball, etc. If the answer is yes, red card. Yellow card could be possible if referee feels actions were unsporting.



Read other questions answered by Referee Ben Mueller

View Referee Ben Mueller profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 13704
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

<>
This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site are welcomed! <>