Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Soccer Rules Changes 1580-2000


Panel Login

Question Number: 23923

9/13/2010

Steve of Altadena, ca us asks...

This question is a follow up to question 23902

I think the referral to the prior answer overlooked a nuance in the question posed in 23902, and left an incomplete answer on the odd PK issue.

The poster also asked about a ball that hits the referee and bounces into the goal.

While it is hard to imagine that actually happening without the referee being in a hopelessly awful position, I think it warrants a separate (and different) answer.

The I&G states:

The penalty kick or kick from the penalty mark is completed only when the referee declares it so, and
the referee should not declare the kick to be completed if there is any possibility that the ball is still in
play. In other words: So long as the ball is in motion and contacting any combination of the ground,
crossbar, goalposts, and goalkeeper, a goal can still be scored.

I would suggest that (in the case of added time or KFTM) a referee can (and should) determine in his discretion that the PK ended when the ball struck the referee. (Of course, if the PK occurred during the run of play, the goal would be valid, and the referee is going to have a long day.)

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Steve
There is no basis for this in Law and the referee is just part of the field of play such as the frame of the goal, corner flag etc.
So in the unlikely event that the ball canons off the referee at a penalty kick either during play or KFTPM the referee must award the goal.
Clearly it should not happen but in the very inlikely event that it does then the referee has no dicretion in Law.
To quote the relevant section
'' Unless otherwise stated, the relevant Laws of the Game and International F.A. Board Decisions apply when kicks from the penalty mark are being taken''



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Gary Voshol

Whenever the referee 'scores' a goal he'd better have parked his car facing outward. And if it was the game-deciding goal, have a remote starter.

But I agree with my colleague, as bad a taste as this is going to leave in someone's mouth, if the ball bounces off the referee and into the net it's a goal. Sometimes you can't help being in the way, because even the players don't know where they're going next. But most times, KFTPM included, you can improve your positioning so as not to be an accessory.



Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol

View Referee Gary Voshol profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 23923
Read other Q & A regarding

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

<>
This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site are welcomed! <>