Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef

Soccer Rules Changes 1580-2000

Panel Login

Question Number: 27738

Law 17 - Corner Kick 9/8/2013

RE: Intermediate Under 12

Phil of Tarzana, CA United States asks...

This question is a follow up to question 27731

Don't mean to be picky, but I notice that the first sentence of referee Joe McHugh's answer might be misconstrued. The ball doesn't actually have to touch the arc line as long as the edge of the ball would be touching an imaginary vertical line drawn perpendicular from the outer edge of the arc (which is what his second sentence says).

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Phil
This what Law 17 states: 'The ball must be placed inside the corner arc nearest to the point where the ball crossed the goal line'.
That wording (outside the US) leaves the placement open to interpretation as to what is meant by inside.
In the US the requirement is spelt out by USSF that the ball when placed within the corner arc is met when the ball breaks the plane of the corner arc or of the lines which enclose the corner arc.
Anyway the difference between breaking the plane and part of the ball touching the line is millimetres and at worst trifling.

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino

Hi Phil. As you note, Ref McHugh covers this in his second sentence. Still, if someone like yourself who has been reading our answers for years now and understands us fairly well has the possibility of misconstruing Ref McHugh's answer, then others may also.
Thanks for pointing this out.

Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino

View Referee Keith Contarino profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 27738
Read other Q & A regarding Law 17 - Corner Kick

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site are welcomed! <>